>A New Knitting Machine

>Silver Reed Knitting Machine

Silver Reed SK280

Last year my bank opened a deposit account for me. I didn’t ask for it, they just gave me it. Over the year I put away a little bit every few weeks and decided it would be my rainy day money.

When I started to save up for a new knitting machine I wasn’t going to use my rainy day money, I was going to keep it for emergencies.

Last weekend I decided, sod it – why don’t I just use my rainy day money to buy my knitting machine? I wouldn’t need to spend it all, there’d still be some left and I can still carry on saving and building up the rainy day account again.

So I bought it. I ordered it last Saturday and it arrived on Friday.

I now have a brand new Silver Reed SK280 and I love it.

It’s just the same as the Knitmaster 700 except there’s no built in Knit Radar and no built in intarsia on the carriage. It’s not a problem though as I already have a KR6 Knit Radar (thank goodness I didn’t get rid of it) and a seperate intarsia carriage.

Knit Radar KR6

Look how white it is

Row Counter
When I first set it up it seemed like a shame to use it, it was so shiny and new. Of course I started playing on it straight away – well I’m not going to just let it sit there when I’ve paid the best part of £650 for it am I?

First I tried out some of the punchcards which are exactly the same as the punchcards I already have but you still have to test them don’t you?

Next I knitted a tension sample using the Sirdar Click that I bought last week

Sirdar Click
This will be a plain stocking stitch jumper. I say plain but it’s certainly going to be colourful.

When I cast off the sample I decided to try out the SC3 linker as that’s on my list of things to do this year. I got it wrong at first as I didn’t bring the needles forward and wondered why it wasn’t working. Once I’d read the instructions again it worked perfectly

Cast Off Edge

I need to play with that a bit more so I can learn what else it can do.

I’ve knitted the front and back of a pullover which I’m knitting using the wool from this jumper which I’ve unpicked.

Pullover Front

I’m knitting it using card 11 set on slip stitch

Stitch Pattern

After that I let the SK280 have a little rest and moved onto the Knitmaster 4500 and made another pair of socks

Dark Red Socks

I’ve got enough odd balls of 3ply left to make another three or four pairs of socks then I might move onto the 4ply oddments and use them to make some more mitred squares. I’m determined to finish that blanket that I started ages ago. I’m also determined to complete everything on my to do list.

Talk to you later,

Susan.

26 responses to “>A New Knitting Machine

  1. >Congratulations!! That is one lovely, white beautiful machine!!! I am so happy for you.

  2. >Congratulations! I have exactly the same set up. SK280 with the KR6 and a separate intarsia carriage…..that I have never used. You will have lots of fun with this machine! You can also use a lace carriage one it you know……… :)

  3. >Thanks Laritza.

  4. >Congrats, also! Can't enjoy your savings when they are locked in a bank account! :) Looks like a nice machine!

  5. >Thanks Jane. I'll have to do a lot more knitting now to get my money's worth out of it!

  6. >Awww congrats Susan! I bet u wer vey ecited on Friday when it came. You eserve a brand new one, cant get over how white it is. That wicked coloured wool – is it double knitting? Only i cant get double knitting to knit on my 700? Did you use every other needle or has the silver reed got a different needle spacing to the 700. Very pleases for you! Have lots of fun with your new machine!

  7. >Thanks Phil. Not all DK yarns will work on a standard gauge machine, some are a little bit too thick. It's best to use a finer DK. The Sirdar Click knitted up perfectly at T8, it's a bit thicker than a 4ply which I would usually knit at around T6.

  8. >Hope you have a LOT of fun with this. Neat to see someone with a new toy.

  9. >Are you going to get the ribber for it?? I'm sooo glad you treated yourself to this machine. It will last the rest of your life. Sheryl

  10. >Hi Sheryl. I'm just going to stick to using the SRP50 ribber with it, I'm not thinking of buying a new one just yet.

  11. >Happy New Machine to you! I know how excited you must be. (It must have been raining when you ordered it from your 'rainy day' account…yeah, I'll stop)Really nice looking machine. Congrats. One question: Do you keep your machines out all the time, or take them out and set them up every time? (just curious)^__^

  12. >I keep two machines set up all the time in the spare bedroom. The standard gauge is clamped to a knitting machine table and I have the Knitmaster 4500 sitting on a worktop. I very rarely use the Bond or the chunky machine so I usually just set them up on the dining table when I need them.

  13. >Nice to see that you have the TOL in punchcard machines. Now you can pitch all of those old ones! LOL! But seriously, I have the SK280 with all the bells and whistles and I'm so spoiled!

  14. >I can't part with the old ones – they're under the bed. I'm keeping them, just in case!

  15. >Congratulations!! it must be fantastic to have a brand new machine, I would love one but I have to make use of the ones i already have first lol!gina x

  16. >Thanks Gina, it's great to have a brand new machine, even though the old ones will keep going for years.

  17. >Hello, sorry to jump in the middle of the comments here, but I was wondering if you could help me? I just got my silver reed sk280 today (after waiting 2 months!) And I'm having trouble figuring out how to use the punch cards! I mean, I understand the basics of putting it in and everything but no pattern forms.Also, when it says 24 stitch repeat, does that literally mean you can only use 24 needles? I was hoping to make small blankets with some of the patterns. I have been searching forums all night and I haven't found any clear instructions or even a little hint on what to do! I would greatly appreciate any advice! Thank you.

  18. >Hi Emily,the punchcards are 24 stitch repeat, which means that those 24 stitches will be repeated across the row. You can use the full width of the needlebed, you don't have to use just 24 needles.

  19. >Oh, ok! Thank you for answering my question! Now I just need to figure out what I'm doing wrong so I can get the punch cards to work!I feel like I'm missing something though, like I'm forgetting a simple step, or it's not in the instructions because I'm following them exactly and still nothing! Any idea of what I should be looking/making sure of? I can't wait to go knitting crazy!Thanks again!

  20. >Have you made sure that the side levers on the carriage are pushed back to the triangle symbol and that the knob on the carriage is set for fair isle?

  21. >Oh my goodness! In the instructions I know it says to put the side levers to the "triangle" but I don't recall it saying to put knob on fair isle. That probably explains my problem. I was trying to learn everything in one night and tired myself out and at that point nothing was making sense.I will try it again as soon as I get home! Thanks again for your help and I really enjoy reading your blog! I started reading it when I was looking to buy a a knitting machine. After all the searching I've done, your blog is the most informative, helpful and a pleasure to read!

  22. >Woohoo, a new toy to play with!Isn't it exciting when you get something new and shiny :)*hugs* Heather x

  23. >Well I've had it for over a year now so it's not brand new anymore. It's still exciting to get a new toy though!

Leave a Reply

