Swatching On The Bond Ribber

Yesterday I packed away the SK280 and set up the dreaded Bond Ribber. I say dreaded because every time I try to set it up and use it I have problems with it. It has caused me so much grief in the past that I nicknamed it Beelzebub.

Yesterday, unbelievably, it behaved itself impeccably. There was no shouting, swearing or throwing things across the room. All was calm and relaxed.

Bond Ribber

I had one ball of DK so I decided to try out a few of the stitches from the instruction book and pattern book. The yarn was flecked and did not photograph very well but here are the swatches I managed to knit:

1x1 Rib
1×1 Rib

2x1 Rib 2x1 Rib (2)
2×1 Rib, both sides

2x2 Rib
2×2 Rib

3x1 Rib Pattern
3×1 Rib Pattern

Fisherman's Rib
Fisherman’s Rib

Basket Stitch Basket Stitch (2)
Basket Stitch, both sides

Triangles
Triangles

Diagonal Mock Cable
Diagonal Mock Cable

Tuck Rib Stitch
Tuck Rib stitch

The last one isn’t in either of the Bond Ribber books, it’s just one I tried out to see if it would work.

All of the rib patterns involve a lot of transfers between beds so they are a bit slow. Having said that, I can knit them a lot faster on the machine than I could ever hope to knit them by hand. I am hopelessly slow at hand knitting, which is why I started machine knitting in the first place.

I am hoping to eventually knit a jumper on the Bond Ribber but unfortunately I can’t afford to buy any yarn at the moment. If I ever manage to find myself a job and start earning again that will be one of the first things I spend my wages on!

Talk to you later,

Susan.

View the message board

7 responses to “Swatching On The Bond Ribber

  1. I need info on the Bond pattern board. I have one new in package. where can i get info on this?

    • I’m sorry, I have no idea!
      I have heard of it, maybe it’s in one of the Bond magazines but I haven’t a clue which one.
      You can download them from the link in the sidebar, look for ‘Bond Magazines’ under ‘Useful Stuff.’

  2. Hi Susan, How about designing some simple patterns for those of us who only own simple little knitting machines that do not have all the bells and whistles on them. I have watched all of your vedios and have learned so very much. I am sure my little lk 100 can do a lot more but I need more help and I find your teaching easy to undestand. I am having trouble removing the ravel cord. Any tips or hints. Question …….. what do you do with all the lovely samples you make?

    • Why not download the Knitware software (there’s a link in the sidebar), that way you can create your own patterns exactly how you want them using your chosen yarn and tension measurements.

      Sometimes when you use ravel cord it can be a little tight at the edge stitches. What I do is pull the end of the ravel cord out of the last two or three stitches on each side before pulling the whole cord out.

      The stitch samples I make usually get pulled out then re-knitted into something else. All the jumpers and cardigans are made for me to wear.

  3. Thanks Susan for the tip on ravel cord. I will give it a try.

  4. Hello, I just found a Knitmaster 4500 in the attic of our house. It is dusty as anything and I didn’t see a case nor do I know anything about the machine to know if it is broken. Can you give me any tips on figuring out if it would still work or if anyone would be interested in buying it. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

