Slashed Neck Jumper With Tuck Stitch Panel

DSC08479

I used Knitradar sheet number 201 for this. I would have called this a boat neck but the pattern sheet calls it a slashed neck.

DSC08486

I thought as there is no shaping to the body of this jumper it would be easy to knit a centre panel in a different stitch and I decided to do a tuck stitch panel. Usually tuck stitch knits up wider than stocking stitch but the pattern I chose left every fourth needle out of work and after washing the tension swatches the stitch measurement of both the tuck pattern and stocking stitch were identical but the rows were much different, 49 for the stocking stitch and 74 for the tuck stitch measured over 4 inches.

On the Knitradar sheet I drew a line in pencil where I wanted the panel to be. I put it in the same place where the marks for the neck opening are:

DSC08487

After casting on and knitting a 2×2 rib, I pushed all the needles to the left of the pencil mark into holding position and knitted a plain stocking stitch panel, marking for the armhole with a length of spare yarn. I then knitted that off onto waste yarn.

Next I knitted the plain stocking stitch panel on the left side, again marking for the armhole, then knitted this off onto waste yarn.

This left the centre panel to knit. If I’d been doing it in fair isle or lace I could just have carried on and knitted the panel and joined it with sew as you go but as I was doing a tuck stitch and the pattern is on the purl side rather than the plain side, I had to take the stitches off onto waste yarn, turn the work around and rehang it. Even then I couldn’t do sew as you go because of the difference in the row count between the plain and tuck stitch.

I used punchcard 3A from the basic Silver Reed set, with every fourth needle back in non working position, making sure that the first needle to the right of the centre ’0′ was out of work.

DSC08488

After knitting the panel I took it off onto waste yarn, turned the work around again then rehung all three sections onto the machine and completed the top ribbing.

For rhe sleeves I joined the shoulder seams and hung the work onto the machine between the armhole markers and knitted the sleeves from the top down to the cuffs. The cuff ribbing was about 10 stitches narrower than the bottom of the sleeve so I had to take it off onto waste yarn and rehang it, doubling up some stitches across the row.

Finishing was just a matter of joining the side and sleeve seams and joining the tuck stitch panel to the plain panels on the front.

When I tried it on after sewing it up it wasn’t right at all and I thought I’d messed the whole thing up but after washing it was fine. Of course I should have known it would be as I’d taken the measurements from the swatch after it had been washed.

I did have to narrow the neck opening by about an inch or so on either side but apart from that it all worked out fine.

DSC08482

DSC08469

31 responses to “Slashed Neck Jumper With Tuck Stitch Panel

  1. Nice job! Did you use your Knitmaster 700 for this? I don’t think I have numbers on my Knitradar sheets. Are there extra sheets you can buy in addition to the basic set?

    • Thank you. I used the Silver Reed SK280 with the KR6 Knitradar. This set is series 200 and was bought from Ebay. I don’t think there are many different sets available, I only have this set and the basic set.

  2. Margaret CUMMINGS ~ DONINGTON (Lincolnshire) M.K,. Club

    Your knitting always looks good !
    It’s a pleasure to see what you have made …

  3. Thank you for the inspiration! I am fairly new to Machine knitting and nevr thought of doing a tuck panel separately! I am also just learning about Knit Radar, so this is perfect timing!

    • I’ve been meaning to knit something like this for ages but always made something else instead. It’s really quick and easy to do, especially as there is no neckline shaping to worry about.

  4. Florence Levy

    This is so lovely! What yarn is that? It looks so soft. I’m now really inspired to try my knit radar patterns. I bought 560 and 860 machines last year and really enjoy them, but have been hesitant to try the knit radar. Every once in a while I read the directions, then put them away for another day. I do use my knit leader with my Brother machines, but I guess I’m intimidated by those tiny knit radar patterns.

    • Thank you. This was a cone of an unknown yarn I bought from Ebay with no labels on it. It seems to be about a (UK)4ply weight and you’re right, it is very soft. Give your Knitradar a try, it’s easy! My videos might help if you get stuck. When I first used mine I thought it was going to be complicated but it really isn’t.

  5. This is gorgeous. I’m a beginner at machine knitting – so far only a few baby items. But I love the knit radar sheets and have just swatched and washed with new yarn and hopefully the next garment will be for me. Thanks for the inspiration :)

  6. Gracias por los detalles en la elaboración… nos ayuda mucho a no cometer errores. Salió muy lindo. Un Abrazo desde el Perú.

  7. Another absolutely beautiful sweater! I don’t have knitradar, but am intrigued about your redesign of the original pattern. Oh, the possibilities! I’ll have to grab a larger cup of coffee and go back over your pattern to better understand just how you did it. I, too, have purchased unknown yarn from Ebay (it was a great price!) but have been afraid to use it. Now I might just try it… Thank you! Have a great day!

    • Thanks, Lela. I did make it slightly more difficult for myself by choosing to do the panel in tuck stitch but it was still easy to do. This mystery yarn was soft to start with but is even softer after washing. Don’t be afraid to use your mystery yarn!

  8. So beautiful, Susy! This turned out really nicely. I love your idea of adding a central panel of tuck – so easy and looks great.

  9. Very pretty and I like the color too. I like it a lot.

  10. how different is the sk280 and singer 155? Love your knitting. Martha Ross

  11. Beautiful sweater,great work!

  12. Hi Susy how clever of you t think of putting in a tuck panel. I have knitted a number of slash neck jumpers as they are quick to knit up having no neckline shaping. However I never thought to do anything other than plain knitting.The tuck panel certainly gives a slash neck jumper a completely different look. Thank you, kindest regards Anne

    • Thanks, Anne. I enjoyed knitting it, it was so quick and easy. I’ll probably try doing the panel in a different stitch for the next one.

  13. Really nice Susan.I love the tuck panel.

  14. As usual, a really lovely jumper beautifully knitted. I would love to give this one a try. I have never knitted anything for myself – ever. I am always thinking about what I can do for someone else. But this one is definitely one I am going to try for me. Thanks for your inspiration Susan.

  15. Thanks, tildama. This one is easy to knit and shouldn’t take you long to complete.

  16. Pingback: Another Slashed Neck Jumper | My Knitting Machines And Me

  17. clever concept Suzy. For someone like me who is somewhat bulkier than you, the centre panel done in a different colour might be very slimming.

    • I never thought of that but I think you’re right, maybe a darker colour for the sides and a lighter colour for the panel.

Leave a Reply

