>Sideways Knitted Glove

>Well I made a sideways knitted glove on the Bond and I have to say it’s not as bad as I thought it would be. In fact, I’m going to complete the pair. The reason I wasn’t so keen on making them is that the photo in the Bond magazine made them look a bit naff but in real life they’re OK. I’m supposed to crochet around the edge to stop it curling but I can live with it as it is.

I’ve also finished the left front of the black cardigan

As I said yesterday, the pattern is easy to do but it does get confusing when you get to the armhole and neck shapings. You just need a slight distraction and you lose your place. I made a couple of mistakes in the pattern but I’m fairly sure they won’t be noticable.

So what have I been buying? Well here it all is:

Top row: 3 x 50g balls of Jaeger Matchmaker Pure New Wool DK. The colours are cream, brown, beige and bluey green. 10 x 1oz balls of Patons Bouclet which is a 4 ply weight wool/nylon in a cornflower blue.

Middle row: 2 x 50g balls of Jaeger Trinity silk/cotton/polyamide DK weight in a mid blue. 6 x 25g balls of Copley Mohair with wool & nylon in a light brown. 9 x 1oz balls of Bairns Wear Ghillie Fingering 3 ply, 100% wool in a light green with flecks of yellow, red, green, blue.

Bottom row: 2 x 50g balls of Rowan 4 ply Cotton in a light purpley pink. 1 x 20g ball of Jaeger Wool Silk 4 ply weight in a light blue.

So what am I going to make with all this? I haven’t got a clue. Well I’ve got something lined up for the mohair but I’m not saying what in case I change my mind. I bought the Patons Bouclet and the Bairns Wear because they’re vintage yarns and I thought I might find some patterns for them in the old Modern Knitting magazines. I haven’t had a proper look yet but I’m sure I’ll find something.

Talk to you later,

Susan.

This entry was posted in machine knitting. Bookmark the permalink.