>A Plea For Help To Sock Knitters

>I need help. You know all the socks I’ve been knitting? Well they’re great until I wear them. It’s not that they’re uncomfortable or anything like that. No – it’s my big toes. Both of them are making holes in my socks! What can I do? Is there some secret thing you have to do to them when you’re knitting them? Should I knit something in with the main yarn to reinforce the toes? Should I make them a size bigger – but then I wouldn’t get my shoes on. It’s no good if I have to repair them every time I’ve worn them is it? Does anyone else have this problem and if so what have you done to stop it happening? Maybe it’s just me.

Anyway, here’s how far I’ve got with the black cardigan:

I’ve finished the back, two fronts and two sleeves. I’ve also knitted on the button band. So hopefully tomorrow I’ll get the buttonhole band knitted on. Then I don’t know how to finish it. I’m not sure if I should press all the bits then sew them together, or sew it all together then wash it and pin it out to dry. I don’t know if there’s a right way and a wrong way to do it. I’ll figure it out tomorrow. Then when it’s finished I’ll post a picture and let you see if you can spot the mistake I made in the pattern which is glaringly obvious to me.

I’ve also started sewing up the summer top that I finished knitting a couple of weeks ago. I’m sick of seeing it sitting there waiting to be finished so today’s the day!

More later,

Susan.

This entry was posted in machine knitting. Bookmark the permalink.