>Finished Some More Stuff!

>My, I’ve been busy today! First off, I finished the woven scarf. Alright, I know one side edge is a bit dodgy but it was my first attempt so I don’t think I did too badly. I also finished sewing up the gloves. The pattern says I should do a row of crochet around the wrist edge, which I wasn’t going to do but I’ve had second thoughts so I think I’ll do that tomorrow (or the day after, or even next week – I’m a very busy person you know!)

I’ve also made a loopy mohair collar. I know, why do I need one of those? Well I don’t really, I just wanted to see if I could make one. I need to buy some interfacing and some lining material for it, it’s a bit floppy at the moment and won’t keep it’s shape properly but I pinned it on my jacket to take a picture of it:

I think it looks alright but I don’t think I’ll ever make another one unless I grow a third hand, then I’ll have one to hold the mohair loops back against the needlebed to keep them behind the latches, one to lay the yarn over the needles (yes, I used the old Knitmaster 4500) and one to move the carriage across. The air was blue at times but I was determined to finish it.

Finally, I started a short sleeved top on the 302. I was looking for a 3ply pattern so I could make something with the purpley coloured wool that I tried making a sweater with a couple of weeks ago. I found one in a Modern Knitting magazine but the picture was in black and white and it just looked plain. When I read the instructions it turned out that there was a stitch pattern on it. So I decided I would make it with no idea what the pattern would be like. Maybe that was a mistake seeing as how I haven’t had much luck so far with stitch patterns on this machine. But I managed to make the back without any disasters – I don’t know if that’s because it’s an easy pattern or because I’m getting used to the machine. Anyway, here’s how it turned out:

So all in all I’ve had a pretty good day, not like a couple of weeks ago when everything went wrong. The only thing I haven’t done is to sew up the bolero but it’ll get done eventually. I won’t get much done tomorrow because I have to work all day instead of my usual 4 hours. Never mind, there’s always Tuesday!

Talk to you later,

Susan.

This entry was posted in machine knitting. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to >Finished Some More Stuff!

  1. Bee says:

    >Susan , yikes sorry about the wrong lead.Knitweave book all the way from Ausland not the right one.Glad you were able to locate the correct one.I absolutely love the knitweave scarf, can you give the specs , yarn , colour and pattern. I will have to go and try it out on the punchcard machine.Very chichi with gloves and mohair collar.Great work(Originally posted on 14th November 2005)

Comments are closed.