>Can’t Be Bothered Today

>I was going to knit the front of the sleeveless sweater tonight but I just can’t be bothered. I don’t think I would be able to concentrate anyway – it’s been a long day. That’s the only trouble with the 302, you need to keep track of where you are on the pattern card or else it all goes wrong.

So then I thought I would make some more Barbie/Sindy clothes but I can’t even be bothered to do that. I decided to do my blog instead.

I have achieved something today though, I bought the interfacing and lining material for the mohair collar. I bought a metre of each – way too much but I’m sure I’ll find a use for the leftovers.

Bee asked me about the scarf I made on the 302. I don’t know how you’d do the weaving on a punchcard machine but here are the instructions for the 302.

(I used Patons Pennant Crepe 4ply for the main colour and Chadwicks Courtelle/Nylon Double Crepe for the weaving.)

“Cast on 7 stitches by hand. Set stitch dial at 6 and working from weaving book pattern W105, knit 2 rows.

Cast on 7 stitches at beginning of next and following alternate row; knit 1 row.

Cast on 5 stitches at beginning of next and following alternate row (31 stitches altogether).

Knit 663 rows without shaping.

Cast off 5 stitches at beginning of next and following alternate row; knit 1 row.

Cast off 7 stitches at beginning of next and following alternate row; knit 1 row.

Cast off remaining 7 stitches.”

How can I explain the weaving pattern? I’m not very good at this!

Well, looking at the finished scarf I’ll try and describe it.

1 needle in FWP, 1 needle in HP, 1 needle in FWP, 3 needles in HP all along the row.

Weave the contrasting yarn under the first needle in FWP, over the first needle in HP and under the next needle in FWP (or is it the other way round?). Then lay it across the 3 needles in HP – or would you put it underneath the needles so it won’t be knitted in? and repeat all along the row.

Maybe you should look at the photo in a previous post of the scarf still on the machine because you can see the needles that are in use. You might be able to figure it out better than I can.

I’m not sure if the yarn should go behind the latches or not. (I told you I wasn’t very good at this)

Knit the row using the main yarn.

Do 4 rows this way, then put the needles that were in FWP into HP and vice versa and knit 4 more rows the same as before.

Hopefully that makes sense. I don’t know if punchcard machines do weaving or not so I can’t help you with that! My machine has the weaving attachment gizmo thing so you just knit the row with the dials and buttons set and it selects the needles. Then you lay the contrasting yarn across the needles and run the weaving thingy across and it puts the yarn in the right place. I don’t understand how it does it but it works.

So Bee, if you decide to make it you will let me know if I got the instructions right won’t you?

Talk to you later,

Susan.

This entry was posted in Misc. Bookmark the permalink.