>More Socks

>I’ve made two pairs of socks today, just plain, nothing fancy. You might be thinking “well, so what?” and you’re right, so what – I just thought I’d tell you what I’ve been up to.
black burgandy socks

The novelty of making socks on the knitting machine hasn’t worn off yet. I can’t get over how easy they are to knit up. I’ve got a pattern for some fair isle socks which I want to knit but I know they’ll take a lot longer to make, and what if I make mistakes in the pattern? Besides, who will see them when I’m wearing them? On the other hand I’ll be dead chuffed with myself if they work out right. Should I make them or should I just keep looking at the pattern and thinking “I bet I could make those if I put my mind to it.”

I should put my mind to this and get it finished:

I started it a year ago but after I’d done the back it got put in a bag and shoved in the bottom of the wardrobe. It’s going to be a long cardigan with a collar and it was supposed to keep me warm and cosy last winter. The trouble is that this Patons Astro is awful stuff to knit on the machine. I’m using the Bond and KP4 but the wool goes thick and thin and it makes the carriage really stiff to move – that’s why it got put away after I’d done the back.
So now I’m in a dilema. Do I finish this cardigan knowing I’m going to hate knitting it or do I create a new pattern for the Patons Symphony that used to be a sweater (the one I pulled out last week)?
I also need to finish the baby doll’s outfit but I just can’t be bothered. Nor can I be bothered to finish sewing up the short sleeved sweater I made on the 302, or the summer top (remember that one?).
So much to do, so little time! But I am going to make an effort and get things done, I’m determined.
Just one more thing, will someone please ask me for that Patons Bouclet? Nobody seems to want it – I can’t even give it away! I’ve even resorted to putting it in the sidebar where everyone can see it. There’s no catch – I don’t want anything for it – I just want someone to have it!
Talk to you later,
Susan.
This entry was posted in hand knitting, machine knitting. Bookmark the permalink.