>That Bond Ribber!

>I don’t believe that Bond Ribber of mine. The amount of aggravation it has caused me every time I’ve used it, all the dropped stitches, and the swearing – I dread to think what the neighbours think I’m doing. So why did I decide to set it up this afternoon? I don’t know what I was thinking. Maybe I just felt sorry for it because it hardly ever gets used even though it took me ages to find it (on ebay), or maybe I just wanted another battle with it. Anyway, I attached the brackets and got the ribber out from under the table. The dog went and hid in the corner – she’s got a good memory. I got the instruction book out and started. Guess what, that bloody ribber worked perfectly! I couldn’t believe it. I had planned on just making a square to see if I’d got it set up properly but I changed my mind and produced this:
ribber scarf
It’s a scarf. I know it’s not brilliant, the sides are a bit dodgy and the cast on and cast off edges leave a lot to be desired but I didn’t have to fight the machine to make it. I started off doing a 1×1 rib for 50 rows, then I changed to a 3×3 rib then back to a 1×1 rib and so on until I’d done 250 rows. Now while it was hanging on the machine it looked long enough but of course after I’d cast it off I realised that it should have been longer. But I don’t care! I finally got the ribber set up right at the first attempt. What’s the betting that next time I use it it will be back to it’s stubborn old self.

So, apart from the scarf I’ve knitted the front and back of the Patons Symphony sweater:

(Photo no longer available)

I’m keeping my fingers crossed that I’ll have enough wool to finish it but it’ll be a close thing.

I also spent a couple of hours surfing the internet which I didn’t intend to do but I couldn’t help it. I started off on someone’s knitting blog and she had a list of blogs that she reads, so I visited one and she had a list as well and…. well it just goes on and on and you can’t stop can you?

Talk to you tomorrow,

Susan.

This entry was posted in machine knitting. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to >That Bond Ribber!

  1. Kate says:

    >Thanks for putting a pin in my map. I had a knitting machine once but I didn't really take to it. I'm a process knitter not a product knitter and the machine just produced too much product, too fast.(Originally posted on 4th December 2005)

  2. w says:

    >Machine knitting is also a process i hate that blinkered look towards machine knitting it isn`t all producing yards of stocking st and used creativly can take longer than hand knitting Hand-Manipulated Stitches for Machine Knitters~Susan Guagliumi springs to mind who wants to spend weeks hand knitting stocking st.. they both have there good and bad points….(Originally posted on 5th December 2005)

Comments are closed.