>I Did It!

>I did it – I made a circular knit sock on the Bond! I had it all worked out in my head how I was going to do it and it actually worked:

circular sock

I know it’s not brilliant but as this one is the ‘prototype’ I can learn from my mistakes.
For a start I won’t do the ribbing the same way. I knitted the ribbing flat, took half the stitches off onto waste yarn then re-hung them onto the ribber. It sounds easy enough but I had a right carry on with the weighted hems. I think next time I might not do ribbing and just do the top part with a smaller keyplate instead. I don’t know if that would work or not but I’ll give it a try.

I would also do the foot part differently. On this one I worked the heel and the toe on the main bed so when I joined it up the join is on the top of the toes. Next time I’ll do the heel on the main bed and the toe on the ribber bed, then the join will be on the underside of the foot. If I joined them with kitchener stitch (is that how you spell it?) it wouldn’t matter but I just join them on the machine so I end up with a ridge.

Anyway, I’m pleased with the way it turned out. I’ll get round to completing the pair eventually – I just don’t know when.
I should really look for some instructions for the correct way to make circular knitted socks because if there’s an easy way and a hard way you can bet that I’m doing it the hard way!

Talk to you later,

Susan

This entry was posted in machine knitting. Bookmark the permalink.