>My New Rules

>Right, I’ve decided to make myself some new rules.

1) I will choose a pattern before I buy the yarn. I seem to spend too much time looking for something to make every time I buy some yarn. I search the pages of my magazines and usually find that I can’t make the things that I really like because the yarn isn’t suitable.

2) I will only look in the magazines that were printed for the month we are currently in. My reasoning is that the patterns will be suitable for that month – would you agree? So, as it’s now just about February, I have pulled out all my February editions of Modern Knitting from 1956 to 1977 (I am missing 1973 & 1976). There’s bound to be a couple of things amongst that lot that I’ll want to make, then I just have to find suitable yarns.

To me this all seems perfectly logical. In theory I won’t end up with wool that I can’t do anything with because I’ll have bought it for a particular project in the first place. (I won some Patons Totem on ebay yesterday so that doesn’t count because I only made my new rules today).

How long will this last? Knowing me, not very long. I set out with good intentions and then they all go out of the window and everything reverts back to how it used to be. We’ll see.

Anyway, in answer to the question from Maus as to where I get my patterns from. If I’m using one of the Knitmasters I get them from the Modern Knitting magazines which were produced especially for Knitmasters. The first one was printed in December 1955 and I have managed to collect nearly every issue up until the mid 70s. Lot’s of fashions come back round so these older magazines are still usable today.

If I’m using one of the Bonds I get the patterns from the Bond magazines and pattern books. I have loads of them so I don’t usually have too much trouble finding something.

If I really can’t come up with a pattern I use Knitware.

So what have I been doing today? Well this is what I started yesterday:

I wasn’t happy with it, so it became this:

And now it looks like this:

It’s supposed to be a long sleeved sweater but I don’t know if I’ll have enough yarn to do long sleeves so it might be adapted to a short sleeved one.

The cabled 4ply sweater? Well I’m about half way through sewing it up and I have to say it’s not looking good. I must learn to check my tension! It might not be too big, but then again……
So now I’m off to look through these magazines to find my next project.

Talk to you later,

Susan.

This entry was posted in Misc. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to >My New Rules

  1. Sharon J says:

    >I'm just wondering – do you do all your knitting on machines or do you also hand knit? ~Sharon(Originally posted on 3rd January 2006)

Comments are closed.