>Sock Gone Wrong

>I thought I would have another go at making circular knit socks on the Bond ribber. I wish I hadn’t bothered. My first attempt was way too big. It was my own fault though, I was supposed to have 32 stitches – 16 on the main bed and 16 on the ribber bed. It wasn’t until I was almost finished the sock that I realised I had 64 stitches – 32 on each bed. You would have thought I’d have realised it wasn’t right by the size of the thing as I was knitting it. I can’t believe how stupid I am at times.

So I had another try and completed a sock. I tried it on and it’s too tight. I’ve given up. I’m not going to try circular knit socks again for a long, long time. I’m going to pull it all out and re-knit it flat then seam it. I didn’t want any seams in it but now I don’t care any more.

The good news is that I’ve finished knitting all the bits of the Patons Totem sweater so it just needs sewing up now – I’ll try and get that done tomorrow.

The felted bag is finished:


Click on the picture to see how I made it. (Yes, I’ve been at it again with the video camera!)

Diane asked me about the scarf that my washing machine ate. Well, I made it using this:


It’s a mechanical French knitter – or what I used to call Knitting Nancy when I was a kid. You just turn the handle and out it comes in no time at all. I didn’t design the scarf pattern myself, I got it here.

Not much else to tell you apart from I’ve finished the back of the hand knitted Patons Astro sweater and I’ve cast on the front and knitted a whole 7 rows. Oh yes, I’m really flying along with this one – not.

Talk to you later,

Susan.

This entry was posted in Misc. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to >Sock Gone Wrong

  1. ra says:

    >how do? Love that bag, what a great idea using an old jumper, may have to go out and scour the charidee shops tomorrow.Bit of a surprise coming across a machine knitter, but nice none the less.(Originally posted on 12th March 2006)

  2. Diane says:

    >Thanks very much Susan for pointing me towards the lovely plaited scarf….i love the Knitting Nancy ,i think i've seen one before…my mum used to save wooden cotton reels and dad would put 4 small tacks evenly space around the hole in the reel and then we'd make the knitted "sausages".. these would normally end up made into a round table mat..i'll have to have a go at this again….relive my childhood :0)(Originally posted on 14th March 2006)

  3. Diane says:

    >BTW …LOVING the finished bag!(Originally uploaded on 14th March 2006)

Comments are closed.