>Bolero

>I finished the bolero and amazingly enough for me, I actually sewed it up straight away:

bolero1
I am really pleased with this one, it knitted up so fast and considering it was made with recycled yarn the knitted fabric doesn’t look too bad either.

I have learnt one lesson from my recycling adventure though – remember to check the label to see what it’s made of. 100% acrylic is not the ideal yarn to recycle (in my opinion). I didn’t manage to get all the crinkles out of it but it still looks OK. I’m sure if I’d recycled a wool sweater I would have been able to do a better job of straightening it. I have to say though that the yarn I ended up with is really soft – like a chenille and I just love the colour, it’s more of a lavender blue than it looks in the photo.

I was going to start on the Rowan Chunky sweater tonight but I really can’t be bothered. I’m hoping to be able to work out how to make a pocket for it, one that is in the middle and you can put your hands in from both sides. There’ll be a name for it and I can’t think what it is but you probably know what I’m talking about.

Remember my rules? Well I’m sticking to them quite well I think. I’ve already chosen my project for April which I’ll probably be starting next weekend. It’s a short sleeved sweater which I’ll be making on the Knitmaster 302:

and I’ll be knitting it with this It’s nothing fancy, just light blue baby acrylic and the contrasting stripe will be done using a left over. I decided to make this so that I can get a bit more practice with patterning on the 302. It doesn’t look difficult so hopefully I’ll manage alright with it.

Talk to you later,

Susan.

This entry was posted in machine knitting. Bookmark the permalink.