>Steptoe Scarf

>As you might already know I am a huge fan of Steptoe & Son. I was watching an episode last night which featured Patricia Routledge (Hyacinth Bucket – pronounced ‘bouquet’ from ‘Keeping Up Appearances’) who played a medium or spiritulist called Madame Fontana and I thought to myself “Hmm, I bet I could make a scarf like that”


Well, do you think I could? Here’s a close-up:


I wouldn’t use those colours, I’d use something a bit brighter than that. What am I talking about – I’m not going to make one. I don’t need another scarf. I’ve found I do this all the time now, if I see something knitted or crocheted in films or on TV programmes I wonder if I’d be able to make one the same. I’m a bit sad aren’t I?
But I always do feel a bit sad when I watch that particular episode of Steptoe & Son – Seance In A Wet Rag And Bone Yard – as it was the last episode of the final series (made in 1974). Still funny though more than 30 years later, they just don’t make ’em like that anymore.

Anyway, on to today. I found this for £1.00 in a charity shop:


4 x 100g balls plus a bit more of Patons 4 ply cotton – a bargain or what!
I’m thinking of using some of it for socks, I’ve got it into my head that cotton will be better for socks now that the weather is (supposedly) warming up. As I mentioned in my last post I’m thinking of using Jaeger Trinity for socks as well. I don’t know if it will work but you never know until you try.

No knitting to report today – I haven’t had time. Maybe tomorrow.

Talk to you later,

Susan.

This entry was posted in Misc. Bookmark the permalink.