>Quick Post

>Thanks Diane for your comments on my last post. I too can’t wait to see the child’s sweater all sewn up! I’ve knitted the second sleeve tonight and hopefully I’ll get the neckband done tomorrow. I’ll probably finish it off by the end of the week.

I wouldn’t say I’m putting you to shame with all my knitting – I do have quite an advantage by using a machine. I can knit 200 stitches in a couple of seconds with one pass of the carriage, it would probably take me an hour to knit the same amount of stitches by hand. Just look at how long it’s taking me to hand knit the Patons Astro sweater – I’ve been on with it for ages! I just prefer the speed of machine knitting. I know some people say it’s cheating but knitting is knitting as far as I’m concerned, there’s just different ways of acheiving the end product.

There is an obvious disadvantage to machine knitting though, I can’t sit with it on my lap and watch the tele while I’m doing it. And even if I could I would have to turn the volume up because it’s a bit noisy.

Talk to you later,

Susan.

This entry was posted in Misc. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to >Quick Post

  1. steel breeze says:

    >I get the "but it's cheating" argument a lot, and I too disagree. The machine does the boring bits for me – long sections of stocking stitch, for example – but it also allows me to create wonderful patterns with tuck, slip and weave. I have a 9 to 5 job so hand-knitting, though rewarding, is just a bit time-consuming. I'm only hand-knitting at the mo 'cause I'm in a weekly knitting club, and the machine is a bit unwieldy and anti-social!(Originally posted on 20th April 2006)

  2. Diane says:

    >:0)I like the bit about turning the volume up! i still think you turn out some awesome projects though!(Originally posted on 21st April 2006)

Comments are closed.