>July 19th, 2006

>The competition is now closed and we have a winner. Before I tell you who it is I would like to thank everyone who entered – all two of you. So, wasn’t the prize good enough? Was the question too hard? Couldn’t anyone else be bothered to even have a guess? Did I just waste my time? Out of an average 100 hits per day which amounts to 1400 over the fortnight that the competition was running, I would have thought that I’d have had more than 2 entrants. Oh well, never mind.

So, the winner is……. Leon who correctly guessed that I’ve been to 9 Bruce Springsteen concerts. Well done! You’re prize will be on its way to you soon. Commiserations to Sue, the other entrant, who guessed 11. Sorry there’s no second prize!

The poll that’s been in the sidebar for the last two weeks is now ended. So out of the 8 people who voted (what happened to the rest of you?), the balaclavas won. I think I might just knit a couple more balaclavas and then go back to making sweaters. The reason I put the poll there was to get people’s opinions on what would be the best thing to make for needy children. I must assume that nobody else really cares.


I’ve seamed the grey stripey cotton top, all that’s left to do now is to sew up the hem and do a couple of rows of double crochet (or single crochet depending on where you are) around the armholes and neckband. I’ll probably get it finished by the end of the week and I’ll post a photo on Saturday.

Remember me telling you that someone contacted me and offered me a Knitmaster and a Ribmaster? Well they arrived yesterday and I have to say I’m quite pleased with them. They’re a bit gunged up with fluff and old oil but once I’ve got them cleaned up they should be OK. Not that I mind if I can’t get them to work properly as they will be useful as spares for my existing machines. They’re over fifty years old so obviously needles etc aren’t easy to come by.

Talk to you later,

Susan.

This entry was posted in machine knitting. Bookmark the permalink.