>Not Sew Good

>I’ve been seeing a few bloggers lately who are re-cycling their clothes and I thought to myself “now that’s a good idea”. So I got a baggy old T-shirt out of the drawer and got to work. Now bear in mind I don’t do much sewing. I’ve made curtains and hemmed jeans and trousers but I don’t make clothes. I made a couple of blouses about 10 years ago but that’s about it. So I used a vest that I already had as a pattern and just drew round it onto the T-shirt. I cut it out and made the straps out of the off-cuts – that was the easy part. The sewing part was a different matter.

Can I just say this:

“Bless me Father, for I have sinned. It is 15 years since I bought my sewing machine and these are my sins; I have never cleaned the sewing machine; I have never oiled the sewing machine; I have never serviced the sewing machine.”

My pennance? Sew a seam then unpick the stitches because it hasn’t sewn properly. Adjust the dial. Sew a seam then unpick the stitches because it hasn’t sewn properly. Adjust the dial again. Sew a seam then unpick the stitches because it hasn’t sewn properly. Try adjusting the stitch size. Sew a seam then unpick the stitches because it hasn’t sewn properly. Adjust stitch size again. Sew a seam then unpick the stitches because it hasn’t sewn properly. Pull the bobbin off the machine and throw it across the room because the bloody machine won’t work properly. Hunt for the manual. Eventually find the manual. Find the section which says ‘If Machine Skips Stitches.’

  • 1) Needle is not sharp and straight. Check needle to find that it is sharp and straight.
  • 2) Needle is inserted incorrectly. Check needle again and find that it is inserted correctly.
  • 3) Wrong needle and thread for cloth being sewn are used. Decide the needle and thread are OK for cloth being sewn.
  • 4) Upper threading is not correct. Check upper threading and find it is correct.
  • 5) Lint is clinging to underside of needle plate. Ah, yes, well…. remember my earlier confession? So, remove needle plate then remove 15 years worth of accumulated fluff.
    Sew a seam. Don’t unpick the stitches because it’s finally working properly. Feel thouroughly ashamed of yourself for not looking after your machine.

    After all that I finally finished re-cycling the T-shirt.

    before after 1 after 2 after 3
    It’s far from brilliant I know but it’ll do. I never did get the hang of sewing in a straight line! I think I’ll stick to knitting in future.


    I won a blog contest! I entered a competition on Anne’s blog and she chose me as the winner. My prize is some Angel 4ply sock yarn. I’m thrilled to bits and I can hardly wait for it to arrive so I can knit myself some new socks.


    I finished another pair of charity mitts:

    green mitts
    I didn’t think I’d have quite enough of the green to do the thumbs so I thought I’d use the black instead. Funky thumbs (showing my age now)

    I’ve also been practising casting on in 2 x 2 rib on the Knitmaster 302. I tried the method in the Betty Bailey Ribber book but it didn’t really work for me so I had another go at doing it the way the instruction manual tells you. It worked slightly better but I still need a bit more practice before I start on the August sweater. I received an email back from Yeoman yarns about the 3ply crepe. They don’t sell it but they have a fine crepe and they said I could use 2 or 3 ends together to get the required thickness. Anyway, they sent me a shade card but to be honest I’m not too keen on it. The way things are going I’ll probably end up using 3ply baby yarn. Oh well, at least it’ll be nice and soft.

    Talk to you later,

    Susan.

  • Advertisements
    This entry was posted in Misc. Bookmark the permalink.