>Fair Isle Failure

>I said yesterday that I was going to have a go at fair isle on the Knitmaster 4500. Well I did and it didn’t work out very well:

fair isle gone wrong
As you can see I dropped a few stitches. I also mis-read the chart on the section that has the white background. What a disaster. The chart was from the sock pattern that I was going to use but I don’t think I’ll bother with that one now.

I didn’t give up though and decided to try a snowflake chart:

snowflake
I managed to knit it without dropping any stitches which surprised me. I’m not happy with the floats on the reverse side and I think I need to tighten the tension in future. At least now I know how to do fair isle on the old machine.

This is the yarn that I intend to knit my socks with:

my prize
This is the yarn I won in the competition on Anne’s blog. So now I just need to find a suitable fair isle pattern to use. The one I was originally going to use is too fiddly and I don’t particularly want snowflake socks so I’ll have to have a look and see what I can find.

Talk to you later,

Susan.

This entry was posted in machine knitting. Bookmark the permalink.