>Blankets

>I finished another round blanket for the Dogs Trust:

round blanket
That’s it for the blankets – no more for a while now.

If you look at the segment at the bottom of the photo to the right of the red sparkley one you can see the yarn from Hell. It really is Satan’s yarn. The Bond knitting machine really struggled to knit it. This is what it is:

chanteleine
I decided I would never try machine knitting with it again but there were two and a half balls of it left. I was going to just throw it away then I thought that maybe it would knit up better by hand. So I wondered what I could knit with two and a half balls of wool. Socks. I didn’t have any double pointed needles so I searched the internet for a sock pattern using two needles. I found one and cast on for my first hand knit sock. Then I got bored with it. I don’t particularly enjoy hand knitting and I’m not very good at it.

Anyway, I was in a charity shop the next day (not unusual for me) and there was a big tub full of knitting needles. So I had a rummage in the tub and found this little lot:

needles
Six sets of double pointed needles and a needle guage – £3.50 for the lot. I bought the needle guage because some of the needles didn’t have a size on them so I thought it was quite a useful find. I suppose you’ve guessed what’s coming next haven’t you? Well, if you look at the photo you can see that one of the needle cases is empty. That’s because of this:

handknit sock
Yes, that is my pathetic attempt at knitting a sock on DPNs. I abandonned the one I was knitting on two needles and found another pattern on the internet. I’m still finding it a bit boring to knit but I’m determined to finish it. I may never knit the second one, I might just frame this one when it’s finished and hang it on the wall!

So I’ve now got the sock bug again and I thought I’d have a go at the Penny Sock which is a machine knitted circular sock.

This is what I ended up with:

circular knit sock
Sorry about the crappy picture. As I had to do the ribbing by hand using my newly acquired DPNs I only did ten rows. I’m about halfway through the second sock so I’ll probably have it off the machine tomorrow (notice I didn’t say I’ll have it finished tomorrow) – if I can be bothered.

I might try something different for the next pair. I think I’ll knit the required rows for the ribbing on the machine at a smaller tension then when I’ve taken it off the machine, ladder down the stitches then re-form them to make the ribbing. Just in case you don’t know what I’m talking about, when you’re using the ribber for circular knitting it will only do stocking stitch, not ribbing. Anyway, I don’t know what sort of results I’ll get by re-forming the stitches but you never know until you try.

Talk to you later,

Susan.

This entry was posted in machine knitting. Bookmark the permalink.