>September 10th, 2006

>I’ve had enough of the square neckline sweater that I’ve been knitting. I had all the pieces knitted and started to join them together using the Hague linker. All was going well – or so I thought. I joined the shoulders, got one sleeve in and the side sewn up. Then I tried it on. It just looked terrible. Here’s the seam:

And here’s a close-up:

I think you can see where it went wrong can’t you?

Well that’s it. This is the second sweater that I’ve attempted to knit with this wool and it’s the second one that’s gone wrong. I’m not going to waste my time trying to make anything else with it, in fact I might just throw it in the bin. I’m so sick of it.

I had better luck with the socks – I finished knitting the 4ply one and the Opal one. I thought I was going to get a perfect match with the Opal one and I was – until after I turned the heel and the pattern changed so my socks aren’t an exact match. I’ll post a photo once I’ve converted the stocking stitch into rib.

So that’s the knitting out of the way, now for the truck. Remember the curtains I made for Billy’s new truck? Well I’ve finally got a couple of decent photos of them in place.

(Photo no longer available)
You can hardly see the curtains and pelmet in the photos – they look tiny! It just shows how big that truck is, I wouldn’t fancy trying to drive it. I did have to make some alterations to the width of the curtains and pelmet because someone gave me the wrong measurements. I won’t mention any names but I’m sure you can figure it out.

Now I’m off to finish the Opal sock.

Talk to you later,

Susan.

This entry was posted in machine knitting. Bookmark the permalink.