>September 25th, 2006

>Here it is, my first ball of dog hair yarn or chiengora as it’s known:

pure chiengora

I’m not an expert spinner but I think I did a fairly decent job of it. I was trying to get a 4ply weight but I think I managed something between a 4ply and DK. It is a bit bumpy in places but it’s not too bad. I don’t think I’ve got it thin enough to knit on the Knitmaster but it will definitely work on the Bond. I’m hoping to have enough to make a pair of fingerless gloves but it doesn’t matter if I run out does it – I’ll just brush the dog and get some more spun up!

Here’s the girls hat that I was making at the weekend:

girls hat

I didn’t have enough green wool left to make the tassel so I used some leftover pink that I had. I still don’t know which charity it will go to but I’m sure it will eventually keep a childs head warm in the winter.

Remember I was having a go at hand knitted socks? Well I finally finished one:

hand knit sock

That is definitely my first and last hand knit sock – it took me too long to finish it. I think I’ll stick to my knitting machines in future.

Now onto that kitchen curtain. Thank you for all your suggestions.
I tried wet blocking it and it did improve it a lot:

blocked curtain

As you can see it’s still curling a bit at the edges so I still need to do something else to it. Pauline suggested soaking it in sugar water like you would a doiley so that it stiffens when it dries. I’m not sure that would work with something of this size – what do you think? I’d never thought of starching it as Dwayne and Millie suggested. I think I’ll try that but I have no idea where to look for starch so that will be my next mission. I’ll see if I can find some tomorrow. If the starch doesn’t work I’ll try the dowelling. Something’s got to work hasn’t it?

Talk to you later,

Susan.

This entry was posted in machine knitting. Bookmark the permalink.