>September 27th, 2006

>I started knitting with the dog hair that I spun. I used the Knitmaster 302 at tension 9 and it knitted up OK:

knitted dog hair
I did a 4 x 1 mock rib and I think it looks alright. This was actually my second attempt as my first attempt went wrong. I tried doing a 1 x 1 rib but it knitted up too tight so I pulled it out. For my second attempt I cast on 50 sts, arranged the needles for a 4 x 1 mock rib and knitted 50 rows. I’m not making gloves – I’ve decided to make wrist warmers instead. I’m sure they’ll keep my hands warm as well as my wrists. Anyway, I’ve made one but I haven’t got enough left to make the second one so I’ve been brushing Floss tonight then I’ll start carding and spinning. I’ll post a photo when I’ve finished the pair.


Remember earlier in the year I made some rules for myself about my knitting? One of the rules was not to buy any wool unless I’ve got a project in mind for it. Well I’ve broken it. I have that much trouble finding suitable yarns for the things I want to knit from my old Modern Knitting magazines that I’ve started buying lots of vintage yarn off ebay. I have bought quite a lot in the last couple of weeks and I intend to buy more. Hopefully next time I find something that I want to knit out of one of the magazines I’ll have the right wool ready and waiting.


Last week I received my second edition of Machine Knitting Monthly – it’s just as bad as the last one. All the patterns seem to be for plain, basic sweaters plus a couple of cardigans for chunky machines. What a load of rubbish. I don’t think I’ll be renewing my subscription when this one runs out.

Talk to you later,

Susan.

This entry was posted in machine knitting. Bookmark the permalink.