>Making Paper

>You know how we’re always being told we should re-cycle to save the planet? Well I did my bit today. I decided to have a go at re-cycling paper into er… more paper.

I found this video which tells you exactly how to do it:

I also found this photo tutorial.

So, armed with all this new found knowledge I started on my paper-making project.

First I had to make the frame thingy but didn’t have exactly the right materials to make it, so I used an old picture frame and some left over cross stitch aida. Not ideal I know so I wasn’t expecting great results.

Here’s the frame:

frame

I had some paper that I had already shredded – junk mail and stuff, so I put it in the blender with some warm water and switched it on. I knew I’d find a use for that blender one day. Well, we’ve all done it haven’t we? Bought something that we’re sure we’ll use all the time then it ends up in the back of a cupboard along with the ice cream maker, candy floss maker, donut maker, yoghurt maker – or is that just me?

Anyway, here’s what I made:

sheets

Pathetic, isn’t it? But it was my first attempt and I didn’t have the proper equipment (that’s my excuse and I’m sticking to it).

Here’s a close-up of a couple of the sheets:

paper

paper 2

They’re not very good are they? I think tomorrow I might call in the art shop and see if they have a kit with the proper stuff in it so I can make a better job of it.

The thing is though, what am I supposed to do with the paper that I make? I don’t write letters to anyone and I don’t make my own cards, so what else can I do with it?

Talk to you later,

Susan.

This entry was posted in Misc. Bookmark the permalink.