>My New Knitting Machine

>I cleaned up my new-to-me knitting machine, the Knitmaster 321 and underneath the muck it is in good condition. There’s no rust and I think it has been quite well looked after. I sorted out the sponge bar (as I said in the comments on my last post) and got the machine to knit so I was pretty chuffed about that. I bought a manual off ebay (it was a download) so I don’t have to try and figure out how to set the carriage. It’s not like the 302 carriage and I don’t think I would have known what to do with it.

I don’t know if the punchcard mechanism is working as there were no punchcards with it when I bought it but I won a couple of auctions on ebay (again) for a punch, pattern book and punchcards so hopefully they’ll be here by the middle of next week. I hope the punchcards will work because the last machine I had that took punchcards was faulty. I bought it second hand and the needle selectors weren’t working so I never got to do any patterns – they all went wrong. That put me off punchcard machines but I might change my mind if I can get this one to work.

I found out today that the 302 ribber will work with the 321. I was a bit surprised as I thought it was made just for the 302. I just thought I’d have a go and see if it would hook up and it did. I managed to do a bit of 1×1 rib but I didn’t get the cast on rows quite right. Now that I’ve read the manual I think I know how I should have had the 321 carriage set so I might have another go at that tomorrow

The Knit Radar will work with this machine, it just slots on – I might get round to using it one day!

So all-in-all I’m pretty pleased with this knitting machine and considering it only cost me a tenner I think it was quite a bargain.


I made a video showing how to cast on using the Knitmaster 4500. It was a bit of a pain to make because I had the camera on a tripod but I had to keep moving it to get the shots of the tension dial and the stitches. There must be an easier way to do it! If you’re wondering why I’m not talking on it it’s because if I import the video from the camera through the USB there’s no sound. I get sound when I watch the clips on the computer but not when I import them to the video editing software. That’s why I just put a song on there. I suppose I could just record a soundtrack through my microphone when I edit it but……
I have a USB capture thingy and when I capture the videos using that I get the sound but the picture quality suffers. I don’t know what the answer is but if you don’t like the music that I used in the video you can always turn the volume down.

Anyway, here’s the video – Violet, I hope you find it useful:

Talk to you later,

Susan.

This entry was posted in machine knitting. Bookmark the permalink.