>Using The Ribber

>My ‘new’ ribber arrived on Friday and the only thing missing is the close knit bar. I don’t really know what it’s for – I think it’s for when you’re using fine yarns – but I’m not going to worry about it for now, all I’m concerned about is that the ribber works.

I’m glad I didn’t just buy the ribber carriage as I wouldn’t have been able to use it on the 302 ribber bed – the bottom rail isn’t the same.

Anyway, I’ve decided to work my way through the projects in this book:

ribber book
I reckon that if I make each item I’ll have a better understanding of what the ribber can do. I’ve also got Part Two so I’ll eventually work my way through that one as well.

At the moment I’m making the 2 x 2 rib sweater. I don’t know if I will actually wear it as my days of wearing skinny rib sweaters are over.
Here’s how far I’ve got:

ribbed sweater back
You can tell from the shape of it that it’s going to be a close fitting sweater but at least it’s giving me some practise on the ribber. My cast on edge may need some improving:

2x2 rib
I’m not sure if it’s supposed to look like that or not.

The next project in the book is a dolman sweater with patterned sleeves. I’m fairly certain that I wouldn’t wear that so I had a look in a couple of the charity shops in town today to see if I could find any cheap 3ply. I managed to find a load of cream and brown for just £3.00. As I’m only making the sweater to learn the ribber I don’t think there’s much point in spending a lot of money on the yarn. The same goes for the rest of the practise sweaters I’m going to be knitting, so I’ll just keep on the look out for more charity shop bargains.

Talk to you later,

Susan.

This entry was posted in machine knitting. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to >Using The Ribber

  1. steel breeze says:

    >The fine knit bar is, as you say, for ensuring fine yarns knit off properly. For a Silver Reed/Studio etc it's literally a thin strip of plastic, that goes in the gap between the bed edge and the gatepegs. For a Brother, it's a little C shape strip. They often got chucked because people thought they were part of the packaging. You should be able to get spares from Metropolitan – £1.95 for the Silver Reed one.Regarding ribs – I always cast on at T0, do 3 circular rows at T1 and then switch to rib tension.Are you attending the Dream Week in September?(Originally posted on 29th May 2007)

  2. Susan says:

    >What's the Dream Week?(Originally posted on 29th May 2007)

  3. steel breeze says:

    >It's a week of MK lectures, run every year, organised by Metropolitan in Nantwich, Cheshire. You get there Monday midday, and leave Friday midday. You get to pick the seminars you want to attend. It's not cheap at £300 (that includes the hotel accomodation) but I wanted to treat myself, and heck, what are credit cards for?! plus they've only had the deposit so far.Have a look at http://www.metropolitanmachineknitting.co.uk/ under courses – click on "calendar of events 2006" – yes, they forgot to update the year! :)(Originally posted on 29th May 2007)

  4. steel breeze says:

    >Oh, and you can take your own knitting machine if you want, or borrow one of theirs.(Originally posted on 29th May 2007)

Comments are closed.