>Ribbed Sweater

>I finished the 2 x 2 ribbed sweater on the Knitmaster 321 but I don’t think I’ll ever wear it as it’s a really close fit. It’s also a little bit too short for my liking – I think it would look better on someone twenty years younger than myself.

2x2 finished
It knitted up fine until I came to do the neckband then it all went wrong. For a start I didn’t have enough of the blue Patons Cameo so I had to use a different colour. I’m not too bothered about that though, after all this was just a practise sweater. I did have a problem sewing the neckband in place though, it’s the first time I’ve knitted one using the method in the book and I just couldn’t get it to look right. What do you think?

2x2 with neckband
It looks a mess doesn’t it? I definitely need more practise at this type of neckband.

Anyway, I decided to remove the neckband and just do a crochet edging which I think looks a lot better:

2x2 without neckband
I still don’t know if I would ever wear it. I suppose it would be alright in the Winter under a cardigan or another jumper or it may end up as a charity sweater.
Here’s how it looks now:

2x2
The more I look at it the more unflattering I think it is. It doesn’t matter though because all the sweaters I’m making from the Mary Weaver Ribber Attachment books are just for practise. If I happen to make one or two that I really like (and that fit me) then it’s a bonus.

The next project in the book one is a dolman sweater with sleeve variations. You can do the sleeves in fair isle, lace or plain. I’m going to have a go at doing them in lace so we’ll see how I get on with that.

Talk to you later,

Susan.

This entry was posted in machine knitting. Bookmark the permalink.