>Knitting Mistakes

>I never finished the sleeveless top that I started yesterday. I did the front and the back and sewed them together so I just need to crochet the armbands and the neckband. But I don’t think I’ll bother, it hasn’t turned out very well . I don’t know whether it’s because I measured my tension square wrong or what but it seems to have knitted up too big.

Unfinished Top
Anyway, this afternoon I decided to start on the next project in the ribber book – a tuck stitch top. It started off alright, I did 60 rows of 1×1 rib with no problems at all. The trouble started when I came to do the tuck stitch pattern – the machine just wouldn’t have it at all. This is what happened:

Pattern Gone Wrong
It kept dropping the stitches and snapping the wool. After the second attempt went wrong I decided to check the sponge bar. It was as flat as a fart. It’s my own fault really because I never did buy a new one, I just bodged it with some weather stripping which was supposed to be temporary until I got a new one. So I bodged it again with some more weather stripping and had another go at doing the tuck stitch pattern. Still no joy. Then I had a quick read of the ribber manual and it mentioned using the close knit bar which is something that was missing when I bought the ribber. So I’ve come to the conclusion that if I buy a new sponge bar and a close knit bar I will be able to knit this tuck stitch sweater. The trouble is that I think I had just the right amount of wool to make it but now I’ve wasted some of it when it all went wrong. I can see this ending up as another one of my stripey creations like the cardigan I finished last week.

Does anyone know of any other reason why the machine wouldn’t knit the tuck stitch pattern?

Talk to you later,

Susan.

This entry was posted in machine knitting. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to >Knitting Mistakes

  1. Barbara says:

    I don’t know about you but I have a brand new electronic silver reed sk840 few years ago I gave my brother knitting machine & ribber kh830 away which I could kick my self as it had every thing with it getting back to the sk840 I do also have ribber and you can not add weaving brushs to the ribber you can only use them on main carr, single bed, I have nearly got a tuck stitch cardigan done got the sleeves to do half way on the first sleeve shape armholes pattern was fine knitted 2 rows did not check till my r/c read 10 rows, I have taken the rows back checked my controller pattern EC1 box before I turned that back and tryed again but I am not getting on the right row.
    been on the internet search google checked all the video’s and I can not find any body to help me with this problem if I dont get it sorted will have to pull it down to the rib and start again, I would like to sort it out before I do that with this beening a new machine I have knitted a few jumpers plain and added bands 2nd col, plus a long line cardigan and a double rib short cardigan as it will not do lace yet it drops stitchs and leaves big holes in it so this is why I would like to get this tuck stitch pattern done.
    have I explained it ok, for you to understand what I am trying to get finshed with out pulling it down again I have no manual with the ec1 box only my books for my knitting machine.
    Barbara

Comments are closed.