>Knitting

>I’m in a better mood today than I was last night so now I’ll tell you what happened with my knitting machine.
I fitted the new sponge bar with no problems, it was just a case of sliding the old one out then sliding the new one in.
Then I went to fit the close knit bar. This is the only picture of it in the ribber manual:

PICT0001
As you can see it looks flat but this is what the one I’ve just bought looks like:

PICT0003
As you can see it is not flat. I have no fitting instructions so I guessed that it had to fit over the edge of the needlebed with the flat part against the sinker posts. What a performance I had trying to get it into place but eventually I managed it. This is what it looks like:

PICT0004
I can’t see any other way of fitting it so I’m assuming I did it right.

I decided to do a test sample of the tuck stitch pattern I was going to be doing so I cast on 50 or so stitches and worked a few rows of 1×1 rib. Everything was looking good so I then transferred the stitches for the pattern. I followed all the instructions for setting it up and it knitted the first few rows alright but then it started dropping stitches and getting all tangled up just like it did before I bought the new parts:

PICT0006
So I thought I must have done something wrong and had another go. I read and re-read the instructions and tried again but it still went wrong:

PICT0007
By this time I had completely lost my temper and I flung the cast on comb across the room and started shouting and swearing. Why wouldn’t it work? I was doing everything right – what was wrong with the stupid thing?
I took the attachment off the main carriage and had a look to see if there was anything wrong with it but I didn’t know what I was looking for – how was I supposed to know? Then I remembered about the Colour Changer I bought a few weeks back. Maybe it would work if I used the attachment from that. I was really clutching at straws by this time but I tried it and this is what happened:

PICT0008
Can you believe it? Don’t ask me why it worked with this attachment and not the other one because I don’t know, I’m just glad that I finally managed to get it to work.

So I cast on for the sweater. I watched every row to make sure it was knitting properly. I was about twenty rows from starting the armhole shaping and was so concerned with watching the knitting that I didn’t notice that I’d nearly got to the end of the centre-pull ball of yarn and it had got knotted up. I didn’t notice that it had got stuck in the tension feeder thingy. I started to push the carriage across and whoosh….. the knitting came off the machine. Not all the stiches came off the needles, some stayed on and some started laddering down. I could have cried. All the carry on I had trying to get it to work and now that it was working it all went wrong just because I wasn’t paying attention.
I didn’t even try to salvage the work I’d done as it would have been just about impossible so I just pulled it all out. That is why I was in such a bad mood last night. I really think that I’m destined never to finish this sweater but I’m not giving up, I’m going to try again – I won’t give up without a fight.

Talk to you later,

Susan.

This entry was posted in machine knitting. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to >Knitting

  1. Jemajo says:

    >Hi, I'm just getting around to trying out patterned ribbed knitting on the machine, and I really like this one you have here.Can you release the other photos of it – I'd like to see the pitfalls before I begin – after all, if you have trouble with it, imagine what I can do to it??I love the colour powder pink!

  2. Susan says:

    >I don't have the photos anymore.I deleted the blog along with lots of flickr photos then I changed my mind and managed to retrieve most of the blog posts but unfortunately the photos are gone for good.

  3. Jemajo says:

    >In that case, I'm grateful for the photo you did manage to save 😀

Comments are closed.