>Knitting Update

>Today I decided to have a go at knitting this sweater:

DSC00427
It’s from a 1957 Modern Knitting magazine and I’m knitting it on the Knitmaster 4500. So far I’ve managed to finish the back:

DSC00425
The yarn I’m using is a 4ply crepe which I bought at a charity shop. It has no labels and I wasn’t sure if it was wool or acrylic so I tried the bleach test. After a few minutes the strand of yarn that I’d put in the bleach had just about disintegrated completely so this is obviously wool. I’ll have to remember that when I come to wash it, knowing how good I am at ruining things by washing them on the wrong cycle. I have started washing all my knitted items on the wool cycle now just to be on the safe side so I think it will be alright.

I finished sewing up the child’s charity sweater which I knitted on the Bond:

DSC00426
I’m not sure that I like the way it came out so I don’t think I’ll be using that pattern again. I think I’ll just stick to the pattern out of the basic pattern book – unless I can find a better one in one of the Bond magazines.

Talk to you later,

Susan.

This entry was posted in machine knitting. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to >Knitting Update

  1. No Rain says:

    >Lovely photos of you garden flowers. I really like the yellowish orange one. What is it?Aiyana(Originally posted on 2nd September 2007)

  2. Susan says:

    >It's a rose, I don't know it's name but it's a climber.(Originally posted on 2nd September 2007)

  3. Moe says:

    >I always post roses on Green Thumb Sunday. They are gorgeous. Great pics!(Originally posted on 2nd September 2007)

  4. >Oh, those flowers are just gorgeous!!! I really envy you of those and wishing that I had an own garden again… *sigh*(Originally posted on 2nd September 2007)

  5. Dirty Knees says:

    >Susan, You made me giggle when you called yourself a "slow learner" because you usually leave fall cleanup to do it all at once. Well, there are two of us. BUT I resolved to start early this year…and actually did a bit yesterday. Good luck with your cleanup!(Originally posted on 2nd September 2007)

Comments are closed.