>A Tam O’Shanter

>I was looking at a beret which was for sale at the shop where I work and I said to one of the lasses that works there “I could make one of these on my knitting machine.” So she said “go on then, make me a pink one.”

Well, I didn’t make a pink beret, I had no pink wool. But I did have some multi coloured stuff – I don’t remember where I got it from – so I used that instead. I also couldn’t find a pattern for a beret, well to be honest I didn’t look very far but I’m sure there are loads of machine knitting beret patterns out there. I found one for a tam o’shanter so I gave it a try:

Tam O'Shanter
Tam O'Shanter
Sorry the pictures aren’t very good.

I made it on the Knitmaster 4500 on Tension 9 using DK. It has knitted up quite big but maybe tam o’shanters are supposed to be bigger than berets – I don’t know.

I need to make a pom pom for the top but I don’t think I’ve got enough of the multi coloured yarn left so I’ll have to have a look and see what I can find that will match in.

The other thing I need to do, by request of my workmate, is to add pigtails to it. Yes, she wants it to have yellow pigtails – well she asked for blonde but I said she’d have to make do with yellow. I don’t think I’ve got any yellow yarn so I’ll have to go and buy a cheap ball. She reckons she’ll wear this at work at Christmas time just for a bit of fun. I wonder if she’ll change her mind when she sees it.

Talk to you later,

Susan.

This entry was posted in machine knitting. Bookmark the permalink.