>Another Knitting Mistake

>I finished knitting all the parts of the short sleeved sweater and started to press them ready for sewing up. The collar is knitted in two halves – the left side and the right side. I pressed one side and was in the middle of pressing the second side when I realised that something wasn’t right. So I put one on top of the other and this is what I found:

Knitting Mistake
One is smaller than the other, they are both supposed to be the same. How did I manage that? I might be able to bodge it when I sew the edge facings down, those are the long bits that are sticking up on the left. I have to sew them along the long edge of the collar then fold them in half and catch them down on the wrong side.

If I can’t manage to make both sides look the same size I’m going to pull the collar out and just have a flat neckband.

Do you think I’ll ever manage to knit something right first time without having to bodge it and fiddle about with it to make it look right? I seem to go through phases when everything goes wrong, I hope the current phase doesn’t go on for much longer.

I’ve been having a think about the next project in the Mary Weaver ribber book. I know I originally said that I was going to work my way through all the projects but to be honest I don’t think there’s much point in making the entire garment. The one I’m up to now is a ribbed sweater with full lace sleeves. The body of the sweater is worked in 1×1 rib which I have already learned how to do, so I’ve decided I’ll start with the sleeves. I think the thing I’m supposed to be learning in this pattern is how to do the lace stitch so that’s what I’ll be doing on the sleeves. If I can get the sleeves to work out OK (ha, ha) then I might possibly make the rest of the sweater. But then again I might not, I might just pull it all out and use the yarn for something else. I’ll see what happens.

Talk to you later,

Susan.

This entry was posted in machine knitting. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to >Another Knitting Mistake

  1. No Rain says:

    >Hi,I've tried a couple of times, but your photos won't load, so I won't get to see your Campanula and others. Oh well, happy GTS. I'll try again in a few days.Aiyana(Originally posted on 16th September 2007)

  2. Julie says:

    >Pretty flowers!!!Julie(Originally posted on 17th September 2007)

Comments are closed.