>A Knitting Update

>I’ve nearly finished the short sleeved sweater, I only need to sew on the neckband. The pattern I used is from 1957 but to me the sweater looks more like something from the 1940s, what do you think?

Sweater Not Quite Finished
I know it’s not quite finished yet and you can’t really see it in the photo but it’s the way the sleeves are set in that seem to give it the 40s look. Maybe it’s just me. Once I’ve sewn the neckband into place I’ll give it a wash and see if it changes. It’s not that I mind the way it looks, it doesn’t really bother me, it just didn’t look like that in the magazine that I got the pattern from. It actually fits quite well, the top of the ribbing sits in exactly the right place and the sleeves are just the right length. I’ll definitely wear it but I’ll probably feel as if I should be wearing a headscarf or a snood and listening to Glen Miller.

Talk to you later,

Susan.

This entry was posted in machine knitting. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to >A Knitting Update

  1. >Oh how sad. I just hate to give up summer. Love the sweater too. Have a great WW. :)(Originally posted on 19th September 2007)

  2. Tina Kubala says:

    >Lovely rose. But end of summer means sweater weather.(Originally posted on 19th September 2007)

  3. Julie says:

    >I can't believe how quickly you knitted this sweater!!! You are amazing, in my book! It is a perfect shade…what color was the yarn? I will say creamy tomato….beautiful! I think it looks 2007!!!(Originally posted on 19th September 2007)

  4. Susan says:

    >Julie, knitting on the machine is very quick, if I tried to do it by hand it would take me forever. I would call the colour dusky rose.(Originally posted on 19th September 2007)

  5. >I sure hope this isn't the last rose. Summer isn't over, it is going to go on forever ;-)You can see I am in total denial of the calender.(Originally posted on 19th September 2007)

Comments are closed.