>More Punchcard Problems

>I don’t know what to make of these punchcards.
I punched another one out using a template from one of the Knitmaster packs. I then tested it out. It dropped stitches on the same row every time – it was either row one or row two, I’m not sure which. Why would it do that?

I thought yesterday that it might be because my blank punchcards are thinner than the pre-punched cards which work perfectly. So I came up with a plan. I bought some sticky back plastic and covered the front and back of a blank punchcard with it. It made it thicker so I thought it might make it work better. I punched out the same design that I’d been trying to do then tested it.

Can you believe it dropped stitches on the exact same row as before? What’s going on?
It only goes wrong on that one row and I can’t understand why. Obviously my idea of making the punchcard thicker with the sticky back plastic didn’t work.

After my latest attempt with that punchcard went wrong I tried one of the pre-punched cards to see what happened and it didn’t drop a single stitch. So I’ve come to the conclusion that I’m only going to be able to use pre-punched cards and not be able to punch my own. This means I have wasted my money on the four pattern books and the pattern packs.

Can anyone think of a reason why I’m having this problem? It’s driving me mad.

Talk to you later,

Susan.

This entry was posted in machine knitting. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to >More Punchcard Problems

  1. Anonymous says:

    >Hi Susan, I have just had a similar problem but with a tuck punchcard, it just kept dropping stitches so gave up and used a ready made one! I did check my sponge bar though, and even though I thought it looked ok, a new one really helped with the dropping stitches, except with the punchcard I punched…it must be something in the air!! I ended up cleaning my needles while the sponge bar was out, it was dirty and now things are going better. Have you checked yours? Violet in Canada(Originally posted on 9th October 2007)

  2. Susan says:

    >Hi Violet,I don't think it's the sponge bar because it's fairly new, it's only been in a couple of months – if that.(Originally posted on 9th October 2007)

  3. vethier11 says:

    >That elimates that, I can't figure out what I did wrong in punching out my card either, if that is the case. I used a prepunched card and it knit 450 rows, panel for an afghan in tuck, no problem! Unsolved mysterys or knitting gremlins! I will look at mine another day as the one I punched is a really nice one, at Gladys Goodey's site, but I clicked on the card she made up for the Charity Knitting at the top of her web page…I didn't knit much at all over the summer but now that fall is here I have gotten bit by the bug again, I missed it…Violet in Canada(Originally posted on 9th October 2007)

  4. Anonymous says:

    >Have either of you posted this problem to the knititngmachine list on google? Surely someone there can help out, or at least contact Gladys Goodey, she is wonderful about helping others out when faced with problems like this.V(Originally posted on 25th December 2007)

Comments are closed.