>Knitting Machines

>Thank you for your comments on my last post, and to Heidi for your description of the KM151.

I suppose you’re wondering what I decided to do? Well, I bought it – you knew I would didn’t you?

I went in the shop and asked if I could have a look at it and it was absolutely immaculate. The needlebed was spotlessly clean, there was no build up of of oil or fluff and it looked like it had hardly been used.

The lady who runs the shop said that if I wanted it I could have it for £5 instead of the £20 that was on the ticket because she wanted rid of it. Well, what could I do? I bought it straight away – I’m sure you’d have done the same, wouldn’t you?

There wasn’t a manual with it so I had a look on the internet and found this site where I bought one for £2.90. It was a download and I have to admit it’s not brilliant quality. It looks like a scan of a black and white photocopy so the diagrams aren’t that clear. I only really wanted the manual to find out what the carriage settings are – there is an ‘R’ on the tension dial which I now know you use when there is a ribber attached. I think I would have been able to figure out how to use the machine without the manual but it’s good to have it anyway.

I haven’t taken any photos of the machine yet but I have tried knitting on it. I had to do a repair on the sponge bar with some weather stripping and it seems to be working OK. I will buy a new sponge bar but I think I’ll wait until the postal strikes are over before I order it.

Whilst I’m on the subject of sponge bars, here’s a short video I made for Samantha who asked me about it:

So now my knitting machine collection consists of a Knitmaster 4500 with a Ribmaster, Knitmaster 302 with ribber, Knitmaster 321 with ribber, Knitmaster 151 and Bond with ribber. I don’t think I should buy any more now, do you? Well, maybe a ribber for the 151 if I can find one.

I’ve just about finished the sweater I’ve been making on the 321:

Sweater Progress
I took the photo earlier on while there was still some daylight and I have since joined the side and sleeve seams, which only leaves the neckband and sewing in the ends. I even pressed it before I sewed it up – something I hardly ever do even though I know I should because it makes it easier to line the pieces up and it gives a better finish. I must be learning something.


Talk to you later,

Susan.

This entry was posted in Misc. Bookmark the permalink.