>Weekend Knitting

>I have done more knitting than usual this weekend. Usually I can’t be bothered and I think that’s partly why I’ve made so many mistakes lately. This weekend I had so much I wanted to do rather than felt I had to do and nothing went wrong. Maybe I should remember that in future and if I really can’t be bothered to do any just leave it.

Anyway, the first thing I want to show you is the sweater with the houndstooth stripes that I finished last week:

Houndstooth Stripe Sweater
The only thing that’s wrong with it is that the sleeves are about an inch too long. Other than that it turned out just the way I’d pictured it in my mind – a rare occurrence for me.

I wanted to try out my ‘new’ Knitmaster 151 and Jane suggested the Guideposts top which can be found at the Machine Knitter’s Treasure Chest. So I decided to give it a go. Thanks Jane, you weren’t kidding when you said it was easy were you? It took me longer to cast it off than it did to actually knit it! I still have it to sew up yet but here’s how it looks at the moment:

Charity Sweater
Hopefully it will flatten out a bit after I’ve sewn it up and given it a quick wash.

I bought a Tigger knitting kit which is supposed to be hand knitted in garter stitch. Well I decided to knit it on the Knitmaster 4500 so it will be in stocking stitch. I’m not sure what it’s going to turn out like but it’s really easy to do. I chose to do it on the 4500 rather than the KM321 because it means I don’t have to mess about with claw weights (the 4500 doesn’t need weights) which would have been a pain on such small pieces of knitting. I haven’t done very much of it yet:

Bits Of Tigger
You can’t tell from looking at the photo but what you can see there are his ears and the back of his head. Hopefully it won’t take me too long to finish it if I knit a couple of parts every day.

I’ve also started knitting another sweater for myself. I’m using a pattern from a Modern Knitting magazine for a plain sweater that has a couple of rose motifs on the front. Mine isn’t going to have the motifs on though, I’m going to do a plain front and back with patterned sleeves. The front and back will be in brown and the sleeves will be blue and pink. Do you think that sounds bad? Well, I really wanted to do the sleeves blue and cream but as I haven’t any cream 4 ply I chose pink instead. I don’t want to buy any more wool, I want to use up what I’ve already got (she says, while she’s waiting for her two ebay yarn wins to arrive).

I’ve knitted the back and done a test square of the sleeve pattern which I’m sure Knitmaster punchcard machine users will recognise:

Latest Sweater
Now when I pictured in my head how it would look and put all the yarns together I thought it would be OK but when I’ve seen it like this I’m not so sure. I’m still going to make it though, after all I can always re-knit the sleeves if I don’t like the final result. It might be alright, we’ll see.

There are other things I want to try on the 321, I’ve just got some new punchcards which I think are for double jacquard. I’m dying to have a go at that and it will give me a chance to use the yarn changer that I bought a few months ago.

I also want to try my hand at cut and sew necklines. I’m sure it will make it so much easier when I’m knitting a patterned sweater because I wouldn’t have to mess about re-setting the punchcard in the right place after I’ve done one side of the neck (and knowing me, getting it wrong).

Mitred squares. I want to figure out how to do those on the machine. I think it just involves short rowing like when you do the heels and toes of socks except you only put the needles to hold at one end rather than both. I’d have to do that on the 4500 if I want to avoid using weights. I’m probably completely wrong about how to do it but I’ll have a try anyway.

Talk to you later,

Susan.

This entry was posted in machine knitting. Bookmark the permalink.