>Practice Swatches

>I finally had a go at knitting Drive Lace on the Knitmaster 321, here’s my attempt:

Drive Lace
I managed to knit through the punchcard twice without any mistakes which is a wonder for me. It’s really easy to do but it’s a bit time consuming.
Here’s what it looks like close up:

Drive Lace Close Up
I think it would look nice as a Summer top.

Just in case you’re interested, here’s what the back looks like:

Drive Lace Back Close Up

I decided not to bother knitting the hat that I was thinking of making, instead I decided I’m going to make a sweater. I’m going to use the Knit Radar which means I need a tension swatch. It’s going to have a patterned front and back with plain sleeves. I chose the punchcard I want to use and knitted up the swatch according to the instructions in the Knit Radar book:

(Photo no longer available)
I don’t know yet what colour the sleeves will be, it all depends on how much of the pink and purple is left after I’ve knitted the front and back (yes, it’s another one of those). I’m still trying to get through all the wool I’ve been accumulating – I don’t really want to buy any more for a while. So who knows what the sleeves will end up looking like. I don’t even know when I’ll be starting this sweater, probably not until after Christmas.


Talk to you later,

Susan.

This entry was posted in machine knitting. Bookmark the permalink.