>That *!*?*!* Knitting Machine

>Thank you everyone for your get well wishes. I’m still not right but I’m not as bad as I was on Christmas Day. The main thing now is my voice – or lack of it. Hopefully I’ll be completely better in a couple of days. Usually when I get a cold I can manage to shake it off quite quickly but not this time. Anyway, I don’t really want to complain because after all a cold is nothing compared to what some people have to go through. Three years ago in Phuket the last thing anyone worried about was a cold.

So did you all have a good Christmas? I hope Santa brought you everything you were hoping for.

Yesterday I took all the needles out of the Knitmaster 321 and put them in a ziplock bag. I sprayed some WD40 over them, sealed the bag then shook it up a bit. While they were soaking I cleaned all the fluff and rubbish out of the needlebed. I took the end caps off each side and shone a torch inside to see how much muck was in there. Oh my goodness! It was disgusting. So I vacuumed it all out – it took ages.
Then I cleaned all the needles, checking the latches as I did it and put them all back in the machine.

I oiled the rails and the needle butts.

Surely now the machine would work properly? Surely it wouldn’t drop any more stitches?

Guess what:

So what now? I don’t think it’s anything to do with the tension although I could try altering that I suppose. To be honest I’m getting a bit fed up with it now. I don’t understand why it just drops random stitches.
After I knit the ribbing I remove the ribber weights but I leave the ribber cast on comb attached. I wonder if that’s affecting it? Although I can’t see what difference it makes, it’s not as if it’s heavy.
Maybe it’s because the two yarns aren’t exactly the same. They are both 4 ply and 100% wool. They both feel the same thickness and both seem to knit up the same but they are different brands – one’s Patons and I think the other one’s Jarol.
I’m running out of ideas now.
Maybe I need to alter the the tension on the yarn mast dials.

Anyway, like I said in the video, I’ve given up on that sweater – at least for today. I might change my mind and have another go some time.

Talk to you later,

Susan.

This entry was posted in machine knitting. Bookmark the permalink.