>More Punchcard Knitting

>I said yesterday that I was going to copy one of my pre-punched cards onto one of my blank punchcards to see if it works the same. I was wondering if maybe my blank cards were poor quality and might be part of the problem I’ve been having with the machine. Well, I punched a card and this is the end result:

DSC00926
I think that answers my question, no stitches dropped. So I don’t think there’s a problem with my blank cards.

I then tested the cards that I had punched out for the projects in the Mary Weaver Ribbing Attachment book. Some of these hadn’t been used for fair isle, they had been used for tuck stitch and had performed OK. Here’s how they did with fair isle:

DSC00927 DSC00928
Not a single stitch was dropped.

So I’m now convinced there’s nothing wrong with the punchcards or the needle selectors.

Until I can find out what’s causing the machine to drop stitches when there are six or more holes punched side by side I will only use punchcards that have no more than five holes punched next to each other. I think it’s a pretty safe bet that I won’t have any problems then.

I wonder what will happen if I try to use the dodgy punchcards for tuck stitch or slip stitch? I might try that sometime but not for a while – I’m sick of the sight of punchcards now!

Talk to you later,

Susan.

This entry was posted in machine knitting. Bookmark the permalink.