>Bags

>So, what have I been up to? Well, I’ve been making bags for my new Etsy shop. I’ve only got half a dozen listed so far but today I knitted up this lot:

fair isle strips for bags
I need to sew them up then decide which ones will be drawstring and which ones will have handles. I knitted them all with the same amount of stitches and rows but obviously they are all made from different yarns so they aren’t all the same size. I don’t think that really matters though – there are no rules as to what a bag should look like are there?

Some of them will be lined with material and some will have knitted linings – just plain stocking stitch. The time consuming part, as always, will be sewing them up but let’s face it, I’ve got plenty of time on my hands haven’t I?

I may finish this one off tonight:

houndstooth pouch
It’s only about 6″ square and I’m going to line it with some black material and add a drawstring.

I would really appreciate it if you would give me your opinions on the bags I’ve made so far.
Do you think they are the sort of thing that people would go for?
Are they over-priced?
Am I making a mistake by only offering them for sale in the UK?
Do you think I’m wasting my time?
Should I try knitting other things to sell as well, such as scarves?

I have acquired some jewellery making stuff – hundreds of beads, wires etc – which were going to be thrown away so I asked if I could have them. So I thought I’d have a go at making some earrings and necklaces to put in my Etsy shop. Do you think that’s a good idea or are there too many people selling stuff like that?

So many questions, I know but I’d really like to know what people think or what experiences (good or bad) they’ve had with Etsy.

Right, I’m off to start sewing these bags up.

Talk to you later,

Susan.

This entry was posted in machine knitting. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to >Bags

  1. Samantha says:

    >My opinion doesn't mean much but i think it's a great thing that you knit bags, they're all very beautiful, I only that I can suggest is that you should try to put them for sale worldwide… I might even end up buying one, about the earrings, try it, then if you want to sell them on Etsy do, or you might end up with some great pairs of self-made earrings!Take a look at my blog tomorrow as I will be writing a post about what I got today. (Have you guessed it, it's my birthday!!!).Best wishes and good luck,Samantha(Originally posted on 2nd February 2008)

  2. Susan says:

    >Hi Samantha, thanks for your comment – maybe I will sell my stuff worldwide, I will have to have a think about it.Happy Birthday, I hope you have a great day!(Originally posted on 2nd February 2008)

  3. Nicola says:

    >I think the bags will look great. The patterning looks v complicated (wouldn't do that on my Bond)! I think if you were to make scarves that matched the bags they would sell well.(Originally posted on 2nd February 2008)

  4. Susan says:

    >Hi Nicola, the patterning's done with punchcards so it's really easy. It would take ages on the Bond! I might try making matching scarves for the bags – good idea, thanks.(Originally posted on 2nd February 2008)

  5. Laritza says:

    >I think the bags are very nice. Once the word gets around I bet your sales will increase.(Originally posted on 2nd February 2008)

  6. ambermoggie says:

    >theya re lovely Susan and I'd say offer worldwide. Another option with the beads is stich and row markers, or bag charmsgood luck:)(Originally posted on 2nd February 2008)

  7. Susan says:

    >Thanks Laritza and ambermoggie – more good ideas.(Originally posted on 2nd February 2008)

  8. >I have noticed one of my daughters has purchased a bag in a similar style, so it looks like these are quite fashionable now. Good luck with the sales.SandyUK(Originally posted on 4th February 2008)

Comments are closed.