>A Sweater For Me

>To make a change from knitting bags and balaclavas I decided I would knit myself a sweater.

My intention was to make the 2 x 2 rib sweater in the second Mary Weaver ribbing book. The 2 x 2 rib is actually done with the needles set at 2 x 1 on each bed and the ribber set at H5.
Anyway, I cast on and started knitting. All was going well:

2 x 1 ribbing
I managed to get this much done:

knitting progress
Then it all went wrong.
I just couldn’t figure out the instructions for shaping the armholes. If I had been doing a normal 2 x 2 rib and it had said ‘cast off 8 stitches’ I would have transferred some of the stitches from the ribber to the main bed and cast off the 8 stitches that way. But with the machine being set a t half pitch I couldn’t work out how to do it. Anyway, I fumbled through it and finished the armhole shaping. The instructions said there should now be 77 sts in use on each bed. No, there wasn’t, there were 74 on the main bed and 72 on the ribber. I couldn’t be bothered with it any more after that so I took it off the machine:

work off the machine
It’s a shame I couldn’t figure it out because it was knitting up really well.

So, I decided to try another project from the book, a sweater in punch tuck rib. I read the instructions – it’s done in double rib or full needle rib – but I still couldn’t get my head round the instructions for shaping.When it says ‘cast off 2 stitches’ does it mean one from each bed or is it two from each bed? I tried working the numbers out but I was just getting all confused so I decided I wouldn’t bother.

How stupid am I? I have a Knit Radar – I don’t need a written pattern. Why did it not occur to me to use it?

So I chose the punchcard I want to use for the sweater and I knitted a tension swatch:

punch tuck rib
This is the first time I’ve tried punch tuck rib and I think it looks quite good. Now all I need to do is decide what style of sweater I want to make.

Talk to you later,

Susan.

This entry was posted in machine knitting. Bookmark the permalink.