>Cut & Sew

>I promised Samantha that I would make a video showing how to do a cut and sew neckline so that’s what I’ve been doing today.

The way I did it isn’t the only way it can be done but I hope it will be helpful to anyone who has never done it before.
It would have been quicker to do it on the Hague Linker but if you don’t have one then you can easily do it by hand although it does take a little longer.

Anyway, here’s the video – I hope some of you will find it helpful.

The brown sweater is nearly finished now, all I need to do is make a second sleeve then sew it up.

I had another go at knitting lace in a similar way to how Jane did it in her video. It is quite tedious as I have to unlock the card, slip a row, transfer the stitches, lock the card, slip a row then knit two rows – then repeat it over and over again. That is the only way I can think to do it but I really think it would be quicker just to follow a chart. It seems to work OK but it just takes too long.
Anyway, I’m thinking of buying a lace carriage and replacing all the needles on the 321 with the newer flexible ones but, as was pointed out to me when I asked about it on the Yahoo knitting machine group, it would be cheaper to buy a newer second hand machine. Well, I agree, it probably would be and I did think about it but the thing is I don’t want another machine. I’m perfectly happy with the 321 so I’d rather not buy another one. I think I’ll just wait and see if I can find a lace carriage cheap enough then see about getting new needles. I can’t afford either at the moment so it will have to wait until I’ve found another job.


Talk to you later,

Susan.

This entry was posted in Misc. Bookmark the permalink.