>Leftover Sweater

>The idea I had for my sweater made out of leftovers didn’t work out the way I had intended. I was going to use the colour changer and do it in stripes of two rows per colour. The trouble is I have a double bed colour changer and I wanted to do it in stocking stitch on just the main bed. I did manage to knit it on the main bed with the ribber up but it kept not knitting stitches on a lot of the rows so I gave up. I wonder if it would have been better if I’d tried to knit it on just the ribber.

So then I tried knitting it in a 4 x 2 rib. I made the tension swatch but it didn’t look how I thought it would and I didn’t like it.

Finally I decided on a two colour tuck stitch pattern using card 12 from the basic Knitmaster set. Here’s how the back turned out:

Leftover Sweater Back
I know it’s not exactly a fashion statement but I don’t mind. I was determined I would make something out of these leftovers.

The pattern was a bit time consuming as I had to change the yarn in the feeder every two rows but I got there in the end. Here’s a close-up of the pattern:

Two Colour Tuck Stitch

I have also finally sewn up the brown punch tuck rib sweater, I haven’t got a photo of it yet as I’ve just washed it. I’ll show you what it looks like tomorrow.

Talk to you later,

Susan.

This entry was posted in machine knitting. Bookmark the permalink.