>Didn’t Get It Finished

>I know I said that I wanted to get the sweater finished this week but I never. Maybe next week, or the week after, or the week after that!

Someone asked me how to use an intarsia keyplate with the Bond USM. I couldn’t really tell her because I don’t have one. I did buy one and used it once I think but I didn’t like it so I sold it. If she’d asked me a couple of months ago I would have probably set my Bond up and made a video showing how to do intarsia without the intarsia keyplate. But today I just thought “what’s the point?”

For a start I don’t have the USM, I have the Bond that pre-dates the Bond Classic which has a completely different carriage to the USM. So if I’d made the video it wouldn’t really have helped her. And for another thing, it would have taken all day to do what with setting up the machine, videoing the knitting, editing the video, uploading the video. I had other things that I needed to do so instead I sent her the link to this video:

I’m fairly sure this is from the instructional video that comes with the USM and it shows the exact method I have used for intarsia although it does look easier on the USM as there isn’t a wire guide to get in the way. I’ve ended up with some real tangles when I’ve done intarsia on my Bond, I can tell you.

To me this is an easier method than using the intarsia keyplate as there is less chance of the yarn slipping out of the needle hooks or going behind the latches – or maybe that’s just me?

Anyway, I hope she manages to do the intarsia.

One day, I don’t know when it will be, I’ll show you my finished sweater.

Talk to you later,

Susan.

This entry was posted in machine knitting. Bookmark the permalink.