>It Has Arrived

>There was a knock on the door this morning, it was the parcel man and he brought me this:

DSC01924

As soon as I opened the box I knew………

DSC01925

The most obvious thing is that the lid is missing – not a good start. Also, as you can see there was nothing inside to protect everything and stop it from moving about. Even a little bit of bubble wrap would have been better than nothing.

I took the carriage and sinker plate out, they seemed to be OK. Then I had a closer look at the machine bed – not so good:

DSC01926
DSC01928

I think the damage was probably caused in transit due to it being poorly packaged – I can repair it. Then I thought ‘hang on, I thought it was supposed to have a built in knit radar’, so I looked again at the model number and it is in fact a 260, not a 360.

DSC01927

To be fair to the seller though she did describe it as a 360/260K.

The seller also said in the description “all the accessories you need”.

Here are the accessories that were with it:

DSC01931
DSC01930
That’s it. One broken transfer tool and two badly damaged claw weights. There wasn’t even any clamps with it. There were 16 punchcards and one punchcard clip.

However, when I removed the sponge bar it appeared to be in good condition:

DSC01929

I have removed all the needles and cleaned them, well all the ones that were there – I think there were about 10 missing. I compared one of them to one of the ones from my 321 and I can’t see any difference – they are both as flexible as each other.

Anyway, I’ve taken both the end caps off the needlebed and after looking inside I don’t think it’s ever been cleaned out so my next job is to remove all the fluff. Believe me there is a lot!

I found this needle inside when I took the end caps off:

DSC01932

Does anyone have any idea what it’s for? It’s about 3 inches long.

I also found two more punchcard clips inside the machine.

I’ve sent a message to the seller through ebay asking her if she’s sent the accessories seperately and if the clamps are included as I need them to attach the machine to the table. I think you know as well as I do that I will probably never hear from her but I can live in hope can’t I?

So, I’m going to clean it all up and put it back together then see if I can get it to work.

Talk to you later,

Susan.

This entry was posted in Misc. Bookmark the permalink.