>Questions

>Laura asked me about taking the end caps off the knitting machine to clean inside it. I’ll try and make a video showing how I did it – possibly tomorrow.

Toni asked me how to do short sleeves. Well, if the pattern that you’re following has instructions for long sleeves this is how I have done it in the past. A lot of patterns I’ve followed have you increase on certain rows from the cuff upwards and when you reach the required amount of stitches you knit so many rows straight until you reach the armhole shaping. What I would do is cast on the amount of stitches you would have after the increases, knit however many rows of ribbing you want then follow the pattern from after the increases. So you would be knitting so many rows straight then starting on the armhole shaping. This has worked for me in the past but I can’t say that it will work for every pattern so you would need to read through it first and decide if you think it will work for you.

The other way (and probably the most accurate) would be to measure how long you want the sleeve and work it out using your tension swatch. You would need to know how many rows you are getting to the inch so that you can knit the sleeve the right length.

Hope this helps.

Talk to you later,

Susan.

This entry was posted in Misc. Bookmark the permalink.