>A Change Of Plan

>I’ve change my mind about the fair isle sweater. I had decided that I would do the back and sleeves plain as there are so many colour changes in the fair isle pattern but I’ve decided to go ahead and do the rest in fair isle instead. I know it will take longer to knit but I think it will look better like that so that’s what I will do.

Tismeaaron asked where I got the fair isle pattern from, well it is in this book:

Knitmaster Book

It’s quite an old one but it does show up on ebay from time to time – that’s where I found my copy.

Talking of ebay, last week I won an auction for another lace carriage. This one was described as unused and when it arrived I could see that the seller was telling the truth, I don’t think it had ever been on a machine. The pattern drums needed freeing off but I soon sorted them out and this afternoon I tried it out. It’s the LC2 and I was using it on the Knitmaster 700 so there shouldn’t have been any problems. Wrong. I can’t tell you how thoroughly pissed off I am with lace carriages at the moment. Try as I might I just couldn’t get it to do the one-pass lace. It was dropping stitches and bending latches so I had to change a few needles. I know the sponge bar is OK – heck, I took it out plenty of times today to know that.

I have to admit that at one point I was in tears of pure frustration. It doesn’t seem to matter what I do I just can’t get the thing to work properly – more weight, less weight, moving the carriage slower – what else can I do? In the end I gave up trying to do the one-pass lace.

I then had a go at the fashion lace and I just about got it to do what it’s supposed to do apart from the odd dropped stitch but I suspect that’s because there were still some needles there with slightly bent latches from when I was trying the other lace. I think in future I’ll stick to the fashion lace because at least I can see straight away if it’s dropped any stitches when it’s transferred them and can put them right before they’re knitted.

I wish I could get my lace carriage to work like this mans:

Popout
Why can’t mine do that?

Anyway, enough about the lace carriage, I’ve got something else to tell you – I’ve won an award! What do you think of that then? Wait ’til you see what it is:

This was presented to me by T at Fiber Babble who I’ve just realised I forgot to thank – thanks T, I’m glad somebody appreciates my ugly mug! I’m touched, really I am.

The creator of this award is The Bitchy Stitcher and she says:

“… I’ve decided to create a new award. Something to honor any blogger who crafts, sews, quilts – you know, makes stuff – no matter how crappy (or how good). A way to say – I like your blog, like your stuff, and I’m pretty sure you have a good sense of humor.”

So now I’m supposed to pass this on to three more crafty bloggers. That’s a tough one, there are so many of you to choose from.
Here are the three I picked:

Jane from Needles Of Steel, Samantha from Samantha’s Knitting Machine and Monique from Stitches And Strings.

I enjoy reading your blogs and always look forward to seeing what you’ve been making (and no, I definitely don’t think the things you make are crappy – they are all good). I hope you will display your awards with pride and pass them on to some of your favourites!

Talk to you later,

Susan.

This entry was posted in Misc. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to >A Change Of Plan

  1. steelbreeze says:

    >f it's any consolation, my lace carriage drops stitches a lot, too – I almost prefer the Brother for lace – more movements, but less grappling of latch tools!I have heard adding the fine-knit bar to the main bed helps (esp with finer yarns) – yet to try it myself! Precious little knitting time ATM!Thanks for the award, too – I never won anything for my blog before! 🙂 (beams)(Originally posted on 20th October 2008)

  2. Sheryl says:

    >Knitting lace requires that the knit be evenly weighted across the bed, so you need a cast on comb thru each sts & weight the cast on comb. If the needle bed is tilted for the ribber you need to hang the knit over the ribber at an angle. If the bed is not tilted you need the knit to hang straight down with the weighted comb. Sheryl(Originally posted on 20th October 2008)

  3. Cerita says:

    >I am amazed as well as how well he is knitting lace on that Singer machine!! Amazing! I was never, ever able to knit lace on mine when I had it.I have a Brother machine, and knitting lace on it is a breeze! Never a dropped stitch and it's so smooth!(Originally posted on 21st October 2008)

  4. Linda says:

    >I have the old pattern book too, but it was many years since I looked in it. Now when I looked at your knitting project I want to knit a fair isle sweater myself :-)Thanks for the inspiration!/Linda – sweden(Originally posted on 21st October 2008)

  5. >That guy has the knack (sigh). I used those orange things when I tried to make something lacey, but I am sure I put them in the wrong place (as in under the needles) reading instructions is like trying to learn Japanese for me.He seems to be moving a needle at each end as well, maybe straightening them-doesn't look like he is pulling them out though.I think I had better stick to the easy stuff, now that I have the 'itch' again, or I will certainly get into trouble and give it up for another 6 months!(Originally posted on 21st October 2008)

  6. tismeaaron says:

    >Thank you for showing a picture of the pattern book,I will have to look out for it,i must try fairisle some time,Hope you can get your lace carriage to work, i dont think i will try lace until i get a bit more experienced,(Originally posted on 21st October 2008)

  7. Leigh says:

    >That lace does look gorgeous!Congrats on your award!!(Originally posted on 23rd October 2008)

  8. Monique says:

    >Thank you so much Susan for the award! Even though I found it a year and a half later, I still appreciate it just as much. Wow! Didn't even know you were visting my blog back then. LOL!Thank you again. I will hang proudly it with the rest of my awards.

  9. Susan says:

    >My pleasure, Monique.

Comments are closed.