>Weavemaster

>I won another ebay auction yesterday, this time for a Weavemaster. It attaches to the front of the knitting machine and enables you to weave, not knit-weaving but proper weaving. Apparently you can use the knitting machine’s punchcards to make patterns.

I have no idea when I’ll get round to using it (I haven’t even received it yet!) as I still have the fair isle sweater to finish. It’s still hanging on the machine so I really should get cracking and do some more of it.

Have any of you used the Weavemaster? I’m just wondering how easy it is to use and if I’ll ever make anything useful with it apart from the obvious scarves.

Talk to you later,

Susan.

This entry was posted in Misc. Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to >Weavemaster

  1. Laritza says:

    >Is this the same AW1 attachment or is it different?(Originally posted on 2nd November 2008)

  2. Susan says:

    >I believe it's more like a loom attachment.(Originally posted on 2nd November 2008)

  3. steelbreeze says:

    >Well done, they are like hen's teeth, and go for stupid prices, despite being sold for about £80 originally.Yeah, I've got one. Takes ages to warp it up, but it's kinda fun. There are some posts with pics early in my blog. Expect it to take up a whole machine for quite some time, though – if you can put it on a non-needed one, it helps.(Originally posted on 3rd November 2008)

  4. Susan says:

    >There is another one on ebay at the moment but it's collection only from Kent.I'll have to try and make some space to set up another machine – I don't think I'll be able to wait until I've finished my jumper before I have a go of it!(Originally posted on 4th November 2008)

  5. angela says:

    so Susan, did you ever try the weave-master? someone just got one on the knitting chat on Facebook and I am ridiculously curious about it!

    • susyranner says:

      I was only able to use the Weavemaster as a stand alone loom as it was missing the brackets to attach the knitting machine to it. It did work well but was such a faff about to thread up that I very rarely used it. I sold it a few weeks ago to someone in the Facebook machine knitting group.

      • angela says:

        Its not surprising, I have a few looms and its a major pain to warp them, I’m just so curious about the way it works. I guess I just love to tinker with gadgets. Have you ever seen the Passap rug hooking machine, now that’s a very interesting gizmo.

        • susyranner says:

          I’ve never heard of the Passap rug hooking machine – sounds interesting.

          • angela says:

            Its really cool! It was made by Passap and then bought by Singer, its called the Tapimatic, you can still find some images on google, The only problem with them is that they use a special yarn and grid fabric that used to be sold as kits, but I still want one!
            ps. Just got some sock yarn and going to follow your pattern for the Knitmaster, I love your sew as you go method

            • susyranner says:

              I think if I ever bought one it would just be another gadget that never gets used.

              Good luck with your socks!

              • angela says:

                Thanks! keep on making the great videos!! I’ll let you know how they come out,
                🙂

            • Joke Burgering says:

              I have a tapimatic for sale.

              • angela says:

                Hi Joke,
                really? email me directly, lets chat! simaf7@yahoo.com

                • Joke Burgering says:

                  Hi Angela, first of all my knowlidge of the englsh language is not so good but I will try.! I live in the Netherlands and have indeed a tapimatic for sale, I bought it but it is not my thing, there is a large box with wool goiing with it and also the grid, I cleaned the machine and it is working fine.Where do you live?
                  greetings Joke

Comments are closed.