>Questions From Carol

>First I would like to thank Jane for being kind enough to lend me one of her Weavemaster brackets. Hopefully Billy will be making a set at the weekend (if he has time) so I should get to try weaving using the punchcards before too long. Thanks again Jane, your help is much appreciated.

Thanks to all who commented on the fair isle sweater. The original plan was to have fair isle sleeves as well but I ran out of patience with it and did them plain. I couldn’t face doing all those colour changes again.

Carol asked me a few questions so I’ll answer them here.

Yes, I did knit the fair isle sweater on the Knitmaster 700.

If your machine is jamming I would check the needle retaining bar first.

As for maintenance advice, I usually brush the fluff off the front of the machine and the underside of the carriage after knitting each garment. I also clean the rail and re-oil it every so often.

I don’t think I clean my machines as often as I should. Here is a useful list of things you can do to maintain your machine.

If you’re happy with mock rib then you don’t really need a ribber but they aren’t just used for hems and cuffs. If you have a ribber you can do circular knitting, double jacquard, drive lace, pile knitting and also some different stitch patterns.

Mary Weaver’s Guide To The Ribber books 1 & 2 have lots of different projects to try. I worked my way through book 1 and fully intend to go through book 2 as well, just to see what else can be done with the ribber.

Your final question is a tough one – “which machine is your favourite?”

I like the Bond because it was my first machine and is really easy to use, despite having to hand manipulate stitches.

I have only used the Knitmaster 151 a couple of times but it seems an easy machine to use. It has no automatic patterning so stitches have to be hand manipulated like the Bond. I think if I was going to use thicker yarns I would stick to the Bond because that’s the machine I’m more used to.

The Knitmaster 4500 is great for making socks on, even though they have seams, as you don’t need to mess about with weights. It also has no automatic patterning so it’s all hand manipulated like the Bond.

The Knitmaster 302 has automatic patterning which is achieved by the use of dials which you have to set according to a set of instructions on different pattern cards. It’s a lot slower than punchcard machines but it’s quite satisfying to see the pattern emerge.

The Knitmaster 321 is a great machine and it’s the one I used in a lot of my YouTube videos. It’s so easy to use and with the Knit Radar attached it makes it so easy to knit garments that fit.

The Knitmaster 700 is a more updated version of the 321 but the Knit Radar is built in and it will also knit single motifs a lot easier than the 321 can. It’s carriage is capable of intarsia so there’s no need for a special intarsia carriage.

I think the 700 will be the one that I use the most now but I wouldn’t say it’s my favourite, it’s just that it can do more things.

I hope that answers all your questions, Carol.

Talk to you later,

Susan.

This entry was posted in Misc. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to >Questions From Carol

  1. Anonymous says:

    >I'm still learning and a bit fuzzy about which machines are who. I use a Knitking 260 is that anything like what you have?(Originally posted on 6th December 2008)

  2. Susan says:

    >I believe the KnitKing260 is the same as a Brother260 which is not the same as any of my machines.(Originally posted on 6th December 2008)

  3. Carol says:

    >Hi Susan, thanks for your reply it is interesting to see the different things different models do. I have fitted a new sponge bar (thanks to your video!) and all went well for a bit, then jammed again and missed picking up the yarn for a few stitches leaving a loop across. It is really annoying & of course it makes me wonder if this is why I managed to pick it up for £20. The needles look straight, all latches settling OK. It was fine for all the scarves I made but as soon as I start with most of the needles I have problems. I do think the release catch is faulty as I found it was the vibration that slowly moved it to open position, so I press that in place with my thumb. I really don't want to replace all the needles like you did, but I'm running out of ideas. Best wishes Carol(Originally posted on 6th December 2008)

  4. Sheryl says:

    >Hi Suzy, you haven't posted in a while. I hope you haven't let a couple of sour apples take all the fun out of it for you. Sheryl(Originally posted on 17th December 2008)

  5. Susan says:

    >Hi Sheryl, the reason I haven't posted is that I haven't anything to post about!I wove a couple of dishcloths and made a tension swatch for a sweater but apart from that, nothing else. I haven't got much inspiration at the moment but hopefully it will come back soon.(Originally posted on 17th December 2008)

Comments are closed.