>An Update

>I’m definitely ‘Blogging Without Obligation’ here at the moment.

I haven’t been doing much knitting so I really haven’t had much to tell you.

I did a little bit of weaving on the Weavemaster but not a lot. Billy hasn’t managed to make the brackets for me so I haven’t been able to try using the punchcards with it.

I finished the scarf I was making – I just need to tidy up the ends:

Woven Scarf

I also wove a couple of dishcloths:

Woven Dishcloth
They’re not pretty but they do the job and that’s all that matters.

I knitted three more mitred squares for my blanket:

Mitred Squares

I have used the blanket in it’s unfinished state to wrap around me a few nights last week as I was so cold. We are unable to use the gas fire at the moment and the radiators don’t seem to warm the rooms up enough so I put on a thick cardigan over my jumper and put the blanket around my legs. I was lovely and warm but the blanket really does need to be bigger than it is now:

Unfinished Blanket

I drew up a pattern for the KM700’s Knit Radar following a schematic for a jumper in one of the Modern Knitting magazines. I haven’t actually started knitting it yet so I don’t know how good a job I did of drawing the pattern. I’ll be using a cone of navy blue acrylic that I bought at a charity shop for hardly anything so if it goes wrong it hasn’t really cost me anything.

I called into another charity shop one day last week and they had quite a few cones. Most of them seemed to be very fine cotton but the colours were a bit naff so I didn’t bother with them. I did buy a large cone of a wine coloured yarn for £1.50:

Cone Of Yarn

It is quite fine so I will probably use it doubled. I haven’t tested it yet to see whether it’s wool or acrylic and I can’t really tell but for £1.50 it doesn’t matter what it is, it’s still a bargain (and you know how I like a bargain). I haven’t decided what to make with it yet but it will definitely be a jumper or a cardigan when I ever get around to it.

So that’s all I’ve been doing lately – not a lot is it?

I’ll post progress pictures of the navy jumper as I knit it but they won’t be very exciting as it’s just plain, nothing fancy.

Talk to you later,

This entry was posted in machine knitting, weaving. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to >An Update

  1. tismeaaron says:

    >The woven scarf looks really nice! it must of taken ages!I want to make a mitred square blanket it too! i saw one on ralvelry, though i wouldnt be to keen on those ends, i wonder what one big mitred square would look like..tismeaaronand whats a schematic ?(Originally posted on 21st December 2008)

  2. Susan says:

    >A schematic is a drawing of the different parts of the garment with all the measurements written on it.(Originally posted on 22nd December 2008)

  3. Leigh says:

    >I just wanted to pop in and say Merry Christmas and Happy New Year! I am having a little giveaway, if you want to visit and enter!(Originally posted on 23rd December 2008)

  4. Sylvia Moore says:

    >Merry Christmas Susan! I hope you have a great time with friends and loved ones.Thank you for enriching my life by sharing a bit of yours. I enjoy your videos and you have taught me a lot. You are indeed an inspiration to me.(Originally posted on 24th December 2008)

  5. Susan says:

    >Thanks Leigh and Sylvia, I hope you and everyone else who reads this have a great Christmas.(Originally posted on 24th December 2008)

Comments are closed.