>A Finished Item

>I finished my first jumper of the year.

Aran Jumper

It was knitted on the Bond and is made of aran weight yarn which was bought at a charity shop. The cream cost £1.50 but had no labels on so I don’t know what it is and the purple is one hank of Rowan Magpie that cost 50p. So because it only cost £2.00 altogether I’m not too bothered about the mess I made of the neckband:

V Neck

The only reason I made it with a V neck was that I thought it would use ever so slightly less yarn. It’s just as well I did because there wouldn’t have been enough – there wasn’t even enough cream left to knit the neckband. I found some leftover cream aran in the cupboard that was a slightly different shade to the rest so I used that but I thought it would be better if I did a couple of rows in purple so that the two creams wouldn’t be right next to each other, making the difference in shades not quite as obvious. I only just had enough of the purple left for the two rows on the neckband.

The trouble with doing it that way is that it’s made the neck look a bit messy, especially at the point of the V. It can stay like that though, it’s not as if I paid a fortune for the yarn so I’m not going to fuss about it. It’s not bad enough to be another gardening jumper but it’s not something I would wear for best either – it’s something I will wear purely for the function of keeping me warm.

Talk to you later,

This entry was posted in machine knitting. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to >A Finished Item

  1. Monique says:

    >It looks great Susan!

  2. tismeaaron says:

    >I agree it looks lovely! Your so talented!

  3. Susan says:

    >I don’t know – I think that V will niggle me every time I see it.

  4. Anonymous says:

    >Well your back .. I havent been here for a bit and just by chance clicked on your link .. YES your back.. beautiful sweater by the way . your so talented.. Toni

  5. Susan says:

    >Thanks Toni.

  6. Tracy says:

    >I’m so glad that you’re posting here again – and revisiting some of the older stuff that I missed (or spaced).:-)

Comments are closed.